Freewrite Sunday day 478 prompt "Pigs Ear"

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Freewrite prompt suggested by @mariannewest

So as a teenager, it was my job to feed the hogs. A tedious chore.
We had several sows and one BIG old boar hog, with enormous testicles.
Lots of piglets.
Their territory was surrounded by an electric fence, over which I would
Toss cans of Pelleted hog food, and whole kernel dried corn.
Of course the boar hog would come first and chase away all the
Piglets and the nursing Sows.
This angered me.
Being precocious, I figured out how to maneuver the Boar.

I would throw in smaller amounts, moving them around each
Time in a pattern so that the boar would rotate himself, and
Eventually his rear end
(read testicles)
were facing the fence. I'd then toss some more so that he'd have
To back up, then ZAP!!! Boar Hog went running.
Hogs are smart, he got wise to me before long, but this fun was on
The opposite End of the

"Pigs Ear"



Done in EXACTLY 5 minutes
also true story
by

Jerry E Smith
©2/10/2019
Image from pixabay
Pig Swine Pork


These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks





Sort:  

I shot a 6 ft rattler about 10 ft from our back door once. Wouldn't happen
Now, as the rattlesnake has been hunted so much, and loss of
Habitat. I'm not crazy about poisonous things crawling
Around where I live, but they were there first, is
How I like to look at it. I leave them alone
When I can. Can't stand spiders tho'
One starts crawling my way, I
Go the other ha ha...

This was supposed to have been a reply to
@mariannewest's comment

hhahaa... What a fun way to use the prompt
Not so fun for the hog though
I have come with the next prompt Beacon and an Invitation to check out some cool things that you can be a part of ;)
110B1F42-8D0B-4FF1-8AFC-71A942555793.PNG

I think it is a male thing to steal the food. Roosters do the same and so did my uncle (I think your boar is his twin brother he is just less smart). Thanks for the laugh!

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad I could bring a bright spot and a chuckle @wakeupkitty.

What a fun story!! I can see you outsmarting that big old hog!! They scare me! so big and so mean most of the time. but I grew up a city kid with no animals at all around.

Our house was 5 mi outside our small town, in the WOODS, ¼ mi from the Canoochee River, where I
Spent almost endless hours playing and partying over the years. I am at home in the woods, I
Know what to be afraid of and what not to, and how to avoid most all of them if needed.
I picked up a Cotton Mouth one day, not sure if it were poisonous or not (it had just
Shed its skin, so the markings weren't clear) When I got confirmation that I was
Indeed holding a 5 foot long Pit Viper, I switched hands (yes, then I was a bit
Scared) Spun the snake around so that its head smashed against a tree.
The head exploded, but the recoil brought the bloody stump swinging
Back around and it slapped my shin. My sister nearly died, thinking
I'd been bitten. 😜 Thanks for commenting @mariannewest

Oh my!! This comment is worthy of a post by itself!! I would have been scared too!!!!!

with all your freewrite tagging, I cannot tell if you did this or not @jerrytsuseer, however:

This is my first day ever to be the reminder for freewrite. So please do it so I do not get into trouble and also so we can read more of your good work!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-479-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-beacon

So glad you are freewriting :)

I used the tag #freewrite, not because of any silly prompt, but
Because I did it freewriting.
Not poetry.
Not structured.
Much of what I wrote when I wrote it was on the flow,
not premeditated, it just came out and I wrote it down.
I will stop using that tag then.
Y'all enjoy your fun

Please use it once a day for the prompt. You are doing great with it and we want to see more :)

My friend, I have done it exactly ONCE with the prompt "Pig's Ear".
I don't have time to come here and HUNT for what the daily
Prompt is to see if it is something I want to try and write some
Meaningless tripe verse to fit.
No offense to anyone, but when I write I want it to BE
Something worthwhile and helpful, that doesn't just fall out
Of your head because someone said
"write for 5 minutes about sailing"

I just sent you the prompt, so you do not have to hunt. It not about art. It's about discipline, craft, and community. Trust me - none of us wants to write about pigs, but yours was one of the best as I read through them. Your other work will be found and you will have better success here long term. You could take one of the days and be a reminder sender like I am doing. You will be shocked at the quality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00