Going Bananas in 5 minutes - (Freewrite prompt Banana)

in #freewrite6 years ago

My first freewrite post and it's about banana! Couldn't get any better than that as I am thinking of having bananas as my breakfast tomorrow! Yes, blended banana shake for breakfast with half boiled eggs. That should last me for a good 3-4 hours with loads of energy.

tenor.gif

source

I eat banana very often! Firstly, I love how it tastes, its texture and most importantly, the nutrients that it provides. What I love about banana is that helps me with my bowel movement! Yeps! YUCKS I KNOW but it really does help, not joking!

IMG_20180515_231857.jpg

You see another thing about banana that relates to me is that where I come from, Malaysia, there's this namecalling "banana" among the chinese community here in this country. It is very common for a Malaysian Chinese to not speak Mandarin. LIKE ME! I am a Malaysian Chinese but I DO NOT SPEAK Mandarin, hence I am called a "Banana". What I come to realise is that, those Malaysian Chinese who's able to speak other Chinese dialects such as Cantonese, Hokkien, Hakka etc but does not speak Mandarin is also called a "banana". So, to make things clearer, I coined another word, I AM A GREEN BANANA! A Chinese Malaysian who isn't able to speak a SINGLE Chinese dialect! Those who are able to speak other Chinese dialect but not Mandarin, they're yellow banana! HAHA!

1dfd833e03550c664d3953103cfa2fef.gif

source

So there you have it, my 5-minutes freewrite! First time and I don't think it will be the last. Seems interesting! Not in time to join the contest but hey, it's alright! I'll still join in the fun.

DQmZMCWSCfG5Mihr8DSYfRX4iPun4EfjBUwjeAkW7S5ZSy7_1680x8400.png

What is FREEWRITE?

It's a 5-minutes writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to encourage free flow of thoughts without planning with a daily prompt. Here's their introductory post, read here and join in the fun!

signature.png

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Welcome to freewriting, wuhooo!!

That is funny. You are a green Banana lol. It is hard to keep a language alive in a different country. I only spoke German to my kids when they were little - but they only speak English :(

And yes, doing the daily prompt is a lot of fun. And you can enter the Tuesday Contest at the Freewrite House @freewritehouse.

haha yes! the green banana! a Malaysian Chinese who only speaks English and Malay.

Is it just a term and people are okay to be called that or does it imply a put-down?

It depends on the individual. many of us take it as just a term but I think there would be some who would take it as an insult though i have not met any

You havent ripen hence green. haha. Welcome to the freewriters community. Yay! We will have alot of fun.

Hahaha true also! Yes, thanks but I need to learn to be creative like you all

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73