At Weddings & Funerals || A FreeWritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

f9vmhp443i.png

Celia stared at the coffin as her brother stared at her. She was oblivious to his beseeching eyes, begging to do her part in honouring the woman who gave them everything. But he knew it was just a matter of time. Her eyes were rolling around wildly, fighting with the demons within her.

Celia couldn't contain the sadness, the pain, the hurt, the anger. She felt the tears sprouting, spilling. She was ready to explode. And she did.

“Let me go with her!!” Her high pitched scream in the midst of the mourning crowd startled everyone except her brother. They stepped back like a ripple as Brent took a step forward. She missed him by a split second as he grabbed air and she threw herself at her mother's corpse, lying still, cotton in her nostrils, eyelids sewn shut so they would not open to see her farewell tarnished forever more.

Brent could feel his nerves on end, but he knew he had to keep sane for his mother's sake. She would have been in tears, flabbergasted at the embarrassment the scene was causing to the family name. If one could really turn in their grave, this would be the moment.

Celia hugged her dead mother, her wails getting louder. The crowd did nothing but stare, trying to soak in everything so they could regurgitate the scene with embellishments to those who had not attended. The family never failed to perform at weddings and funerals.

The siblings first held each other, a discreet tug of war before each move became exaggerated, each adamant in their own grief. One pulling, one pushing. Then they were wrestling on the floor.

This was the cue for the cousins, who picked them up and dragged them to the side. Celia looked like she was in a trance. Brent looked like he was about to turn green. Celia’s dress was torn and one cousin was already wrapping a shawl around her waist. Brent was obvious to one lens missing from his spectacles as one cousin searched for it, in the hopes that no one had already stepped on it.

Sister and brother stood side by side watching the the funeral rights carried out as if the sibling kerfuffle never happened, Brent held on to Celia’s hand tight and slowly walked over as they lowered the body into Mother Earth.

Voice shaking, Brent whispered to Celia loud enough for the closest around them to add to the highlight of their day.

“Celia, if you do not cut this out!! This drama... You, who sent her to her grave. I will honestly throw you in and bury you. The only thing stopping me, is poor mother will not be rid of you even in death.”

And just as he thought he had said enough to stop her from acting up, she jumped into the gaping hole and started wailing again.

This is a FreeWrite for the prompt Earth. A FreeWrite is where you use the prompt to inspire you. Set the timer to 5 minutes then type away. There is no right, no wrong, the only idea is to get out of your head and write. Fiction to Real Life and anything in between. Get your prompt from @mariannewest and also follow the @FreeWriteHouse for some writing fun.

Head on here to read how the prompt inspired other FreeWriters.

Images & Videos are from my Photo Gallery unless stated
Free Online Apps Used: Canva.com, ezgif.com

sign off gif.gif

@FreeWriteHouse || @SteemitMamas || @OneLoveDTube || PowerHouseCreatives ||@TheAlliance || @Qurator || @DRisers


kaerpediem gif.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for the support
Truly appreciated :)


We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and/or resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you Thank you for the support <33

OMG! Dare I laugh at the expense of someones death? Poor Brent. Love this! : )

Resident cat here, wishing you a wonderful day. Here is today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-565-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-delegation

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Part of that story I witnessed... and yes it was family ....
But it was a long time ago... so now we can laugh ;p
Thank you for the prompt :D

I am glad that you all can laugh about it now. : ) I nominated this story.

We know a big Italian family and this is the way they react at funerals. My brother calls them "professional mourners." LOL! I can't believe we are laughing about funerals.

Maybe not "all" of us ;p
Thank you so much @whatisnew... makes me so happy that you enjoyed reading it
What?!! You mean this kind of behaviour is not exclusive to the Indians... hahaha
Not sure if you know, but once upon a time, you could hire professional mourners to come and create the atmosphere :)...

OMG! I never knew that you could hire professional mourners. How crazy! LOL!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 219 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

thank you so much :)

Love that line at the end - the only thing stopping him - NO SPOILER, in case anyone reads comments before reading stories!
Somewhere, long ago, I read a novel or saw a movie where a grieving woman threw herself into the grave of a loved one. Now I'm driving myself crazy wondering what it is I can't quite remember. Could have been an unpublished manuscript in an online fiction workshop years ago. I'm not suggesting your story was inspired by it - just saying I wish I could remember where I saw something that your story reminded me of!

Great Five-Minute Freewrite!

I'm not suggesting your story was inspired by it

I didn't think it all :)
For sure there are ideas in my head that's encouraged by things I have seen, heard, read... and over time it merges with your own thoughts and ideas... and you are not sure where which starts and ends.... :)

In fact this story is inspired by a relative. I didn't even think of it when I started the timer, just that I wanted to write a story about returning to Mother Earth.... and then this story came out... :)

Thank you so much @carolkean :)

Oh, I never meant to suggest you got the idea elsewhere. I'm just tormenting myself trying to remember where I saw a scene with a cemetery and someone jumping in: my memory is full of gaping holes and it bug me. Your story is yours, and it's fresh and original. As Willa Cather said, “There are only two or three human stories, and they go on repeating themselves as fiercely as if they had never happened before.”

I know <33
Willa has something there :)

Great freewrite! Some strange going-ons happen at funerals. I’ve actually seen a wife throw herself on top of the coffin wailing and weeping. It was sad to watch but one doesn’t forget easily.

Thank you so much @redheadpei
Sometimes fact is stranger than fiction and fiction is taken off fact ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85