FreeWriteHouse Party Day 27: Let’s Talk About The ELEPHANT In The Room

in #freewrite6 years ago

Elephant

Let’s talk about the elephant in the room, which is the dog. But please don’t call her a dog. The one and only time I said it without thinking, my SIL looked startled. Like when you call a child "it". She had a name. Lolita!

I have always been a little (read that as very, very) afraid of dogs. I was bitten by a puppy when I was young. I was a puppy too, only 5. It was under the bed I got off from, it ran out, bit my leg and wouldn’t let go. Until the owner came and sorted it out. To make it worse, she put some white cream on the would that burnt it to hell and back.

So when I stepped out of the car on day 1 and Lolita came running out, I froze. It took some time for me to warm up to her. My brother and SIL told me she was the gentlest and she wouldn’t bite. True, even when they played rough wth her, the only thing she bit was her own tail and she’d go round and round excited.

Mostly indoors because of the weather in Perth, I had a lot of time to ask about Lolita. She’s considered a family member. Her food was cooked in the same pots. She had a raincoat to walk out in the rain. She was allowed anywhere in the house including the bed. She had her own spot in the car.

She joined us for dessert and would place her face on the coffee table with really sad eyes in the hopes of getting a piece of the doughnut. And yes! She did get to a small bit of almost anything we ateThey would explain to her why they were leaving her behind when they were going out. She was referred to as their first daughter and referred to as “big sister” with their daughter.

They spent a lot of money bringing her from Malaysia to Perth. They told me friends and family thought they were crazy, but my SIL said she’s family and you do not leave family behind.

Image-1 (1).jpg

That's me and my Dad taking her for a walk on the last day there. And just in case you are wondering, that is a picture of my alter-ego the Venetian mask over my face for consistency in the FreeWriteHouse Challenge. I didn't go for a walk with the mask.
I had to get my brother to take the picture so he could call out to her and it's almost like she knew how to pose for a picture.. haha... And here's a short video of Lolita. She is very cute!!)

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Another day another prompt, another Free Write! This is where you are allowed to frolic in the happiest place or traverse into the darkest corners of your mind and then share it. It can be fact, it can be fiction, as long as they are your words!!

Check out @mariannewest and @freewritehouse to find out more.
This is my submission for the 200 Day Party Challenge where we need to write one freewrite every single day for 50 days. Read other stories inspired by any of the prompts as it is the weekend here!!

’Til we meet again over text, pics, videos, maybe even coffee - Steem On!!

KAERPEDIEM.gif

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png


@steemitbloggers

20180516_002249_0001.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

I am not afraid of dogs and I have 2 of them. But, in my opinion, they are dogs - not people. I have a hard time with pets getting treated better than many children in the world.

I love seeing caterpillars in my yard!! No, not the huge machines - my little dudes like to watch those 😉 Hope you are having some writing fun today and I am so happy that you are part of the Freewriters!!!

Remember to drop your link to your favorite freewrite of a fellow freewriter at the Freewrite House on Tuesday!! Or any day…

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-234-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-caterpillar

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I hear you @mariannewest... I love my cat... but it's still a cat to me...
I have heard of people treating their furkids like the real thing... first time actually living through it...so it was an... experience...

Caterpillars... Got it 😊

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

She looks adorable...

She is and so gentle that I actually took her for a walk haha

Must be very manja with you.

It was very manja with every body but mostly its... I mean her Daddy 😉

Hahaha... I see

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10