School and the Poisonous Socialization

in #freewrite6 years ago

There are no longer chalkboards in schools, and probably less chalk mined from limestone streaks kept in calcite fields. Instead, the slick of white-boards and the ever drying bunch of dry erase, usually the only color left is brown and who wants to look at messages in tan?

I guess it works around Thanksgiving if you’re one of the teachers who likes to bring a paper-celled, feather-tailed turkey of orange and brown to sit upon your desk, one of those who stays after school in order to pull all of last months’ staples in order to change the holiday borders to the bulletin board in which you post the classroom expectations (no longer called rules, as the connotations are too negative and we never want a student to feel healthy-shame) and the student of the month that pretty much rotates through everyone no matter their academic merit because we value equality and worth of all no matter output or disruption.

Some go insane when the chalk squeaks or a kid drags his nails mercilessly down the length of green or black board, it hurts your teeth in some way, though I’m not entirely sure how? Could be the way in which black liquids make their way so quickly into the porous, long-white chalk the teachers on TV quickly dipped to convince us we must eat fluoride to toughen our smiles, possibly soften our brains for easier pliability?

My grandfather was a dentist and I chose the flavor of my fluoridation every six months—grape is gross, bubblegum not quite right, seems mint is the best way to mask the thickly gagging treatment. We also lived in an obedient community in which our pipes pumped the poisonous waters and a school nurse came every Thursday afternoon, a plastic tray, of half-filled, bathroom-sized Dixie cups of pink fluoride yum. We held our cups until everyone had one, and then all at once, swished a minute long before spitting back into our cups, the nurse coming by with a bucket we proudly threw all into.

Video credit: Classic TV Ads/youtube

Sort:  

Well, there are still more.. we agree to meet at the coffee shop after the graduation but when we get there everyone busy with themselves and their smartphone. In my country, students can text message to the teacher to submit the homework by email or whatsapp, they even killed a teacher because got them grounded for disturbing other students. Who to blame?

Yes, some classrooms here have smartboards and there are teachers who use technology more than others with the email and texting, etc.
Too much violence with school shootings--of teachers &/or other students. I don't know who is to blame? I do know it is tough being a teacher and that whether we like it or not, we are socializing the students--sometimes in good ways and sometimes in bad and our beliefs surrounding these ways can change over time when we realize the outcomes were different than the hypothesis.

We can't blame the technology either.. but I think the poisonous socialization and society apriory play a big roles in this probs (cmiiw). My friend is collecting donation on facebook to renovate a school in remote area, pay the teachers in minimum wage and send children on school age from poor family to school and provide scholarship from donation too, meanwhile other students spent their time in illegal motobike race. It's not fair... but many television dramas show this kind of life everyday.

Thinking about the system makes me cringe with all of beingness...I appreciate your speaking up and out honestly. I am so thankful that there are a plethora of brave beautyfull souls that are leading the homeschooling way so that our collective consciousness can finally move in a healthier more mind-body-spirit & family/tribe oriented direction.

Much Love & Respect @kimberlylane ~Thank you for Being You!

#steemitbloggers

Thank YOU for reading and your support :)

My pleasure & Honor SiStar :) <333

Namaste

Did you have this ad in the States too? It's exactly the same one that featured here so regularly in my Australian childhood.

"... the bulletin board in which you post the classroom expectations (no longer called rules, as the connotations are too negative and we never want a student to feel healthy-shame)".

No indeed. We don't want them in any fashion to understand they are a part of a greater whole. And we certainly don't want them to feel a sense of security that comes from understanding the boundaries. Why, that would be disastrous for hyperindividualised alienated people! It might give them fancy ideas about banding together and overthrowing the corporatocracy! ;)

We had a very similar one, no doubt the U.S. version with our own accent, but this was the one I found. First thing I thought of with the "chalk" prompt.
As a child in school my mind often wandered to the children coming together and overthrowing the teachers and administrators, but when I talked about it with other students they poo-pooed me. Now, I do live a fairly isolated life besides my children. Not that I don't have friends, or talk to people in the community, hello, how is it going? but most of us do, right?
Makes me dizzy in trying to think my way out of the psychological that was planted and not my own and I fear it can never be undone and then the self-should's start, regarding love and acceptance of self and others, but there's still anger at being made to believe lies and then boundaries become meaningless, like equations we see only at a micro-level, push our pencil uneasily through the steps, hoping not to make a wrong move--one negative in front of the right number means you missed the problem entirely!

It's so depressing, isn't it. Groups of one species perpetuate this on other groups of the same species.

Sooooooo cool that you had desires to overthrow the system as a kid! It did not even enter my mind to question any of it.

I remember I so wanted to be class monitor when I was in primary school just so I could rub the black board. Imagine all the chalk dust. Sadly I didn't get a chance...
And then years down "they" tell us it's bad!! haha
Enjoyed the read @kimberlylane :)

Funny how those kinds of duties seemed so important and at the same time out of reach when we weren't the ones chosen. I used to want to work in school lunch, but when I was finally chosen, I had to wash dishes and wasn't on the serving line! I wanted to be the one passing out the dessert :)

oh no!!... why didn't every one get their turn at different stations?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77