My Freewrite - Describe a Clock

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_3445.JPG
Freewrite (7) (1).png

I love that we still are hanging clocks on the walls which have two hands going around and around. To me, that is so easy to visualize the ticking away of time - especially if you have a second hand as well. Most of the clocks on the wall don't have that - there are a few that have a smaller round inside with the second hand running like crazy. Such a reminder that every second counts - right? I know I wast a lot of seconds doing something silly - like playing a game. But is it silly? Or is that my upbringing that the only thing that counts is something of grave intellectual importance?
Well better get back to describing a clock because, at this point, nobody can guess what I am looking at. Well, no looking at - in my mind. And the images come raising in. ther is the very simple round clock, maybe 10 inches in diameter. The numbers and lines to depict the minutes are black on white. We have a 12 on the very top, then 4 lines, one for every minute. There comes the 1. Four lines, and 2, for lines, and 3. Now, we have moved one quarter of the circle. the 6 is opposite the 1 and the 9 is opposite the 3. The numbers are simple, nothing fancy here and the cover is either white or black plastic - and if you shop at Ikea - you probably have owned one of those very simple and very inexpensive clocks.
They do what they are supposed to do - for a while. But they need batteries, the thing is made out of plastic and it will break. Like just about everything that is made today - it is made with a short lifespan in time so you will come back, eat another meal of the famous meatballs with lingonberries - the berries is what I like. Anyways, you will come back because now, you are used to be staring up at the wall to figure out what time of the day you are finding yourself in.
There used to be - well there still is - this amazing timekeeper that was/is always available. We just have forgotten how to read it. It tells the time and it is a weather station as well. Okay, it also disperses the weather. But once upon a time, people could look up in the sky and tell you what time of the day it is, what kind of weather to expect and the time of the year.
heck, the 5 minutes are long gone and there are so many more clocks swirling in my mind. there is the one I inherited from my mom. Gold figurines are surrounding the actual clock - which has given up on us. Maybe, there is still someone alive who can fix clocks like that with their intricate inside of little wheels and springs and whatever. I can't. The clock is about 20 inches tall, the figurines are on an oval-shaped surface and a glass dome is covering the whole thing. I grew up with that clock as well as with the furniture I inherited and couldn't bring here. they were old. bought by my great grandfather when he bought the house somewhen in 18 something. I have seen furniture like that in museums here. But where would I put them? we don't have houses built to give them the right frame - and we don't have the lifestyle either. they have to be kept in the room for very gentle use. Don't think that they could survive kids jumping on them or heavy people plopping down. Oh, and there was and is no money to ship them here. so, my niece has them and she also has the clock - I was afraid to break it on the way here - and where would I put it?
Well, finally, already talked about the glorious sun - we also had sundials. I saw one the other day - but it didn't work. a piece, the essential piece was broken off...

IMG_3446.JPG

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Yes, time tick, tick, ticking away. The older I get the faster it goes!
Love your sundial!

Wow! You wrote all that in five minutes? Or did you reach five minutes before you wrote "the 5 minutes are long gone?'

This is my very first look at a 5-minute Freewrite. It looks like a fun challenge that can be adapted for language teaching. Thanks!

Nice hearing from you. On this one, I went way over. I usually come in somewhere between 300 and 400 words in 5 minutes.
The freewrite is used in classrooms all over - especially in creative writing courses. A fun way to just write and see what happens... And we all know - the more we write, the better we get. 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87