Love, forever (Five minutes freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I promised I would never leave you, my love. Remember? I promised my love would be eternal and you used to laugh, saying 'we'll see when I'm old and my face is all wrinkles, will you love me then?' Remember what I answered? 'I'll be too blind to see all the wrinkles so I'll still love the girl I first saw rushing out of the house chasing her dog'. Can I tell you a secret? I always hated that stupid mutt. I was glad when he finally managed to run away. He had no business stealing from my love!
Please don't be mad, my love! I always told you I'll be the most faithful lover that ever was. I never lied to you, see, I am here every day - so you're never lonely. I'm here to watch over you - surrounded by strangers, people that pass you by without even looking at you. They know nothing of you...
Do you want to know another secret? Sometimes I envy them, all those ignorants whose lives you've never touched, whose dreams you haven't turned into nightmares. I don't even remember what I used to dream before I met you... Something pathetic, no doubt - for I didn't know beauty or love before I met you. Even time and space were different back then, but you took me to a Universe where the laws of physics were suspended - a place where we floated hand in hand together, where the Sun rose up when you opened your eyes and set when we fell asleep exhausted. I wish we could have stayed there forever. Now it's not the same - my feet are so heavy some days I can hardly walk. What's the point of coming here every day when you won't ever look at me. I long to touch you're skin, seems smooth as silk in the sun, but I know I must not. I must not break the spell. Weak as it is, it's all I got.

IMAG2820.jpg

Did you see those girls looking at me, my love? They know who I am, even though they're too young to remember us - the girl that vanished and her bereaved lover. Twenty years ago girls like them would cry their eyes out reading our story. Remember the women who welcomed me with open arms, willing to do anything to nurse me back to sanity? Of course, you don't remember - you were already dead, my love. Hush, don't say anything, my love. I know it was a stupid mistake. I know you were never really going to leave me. I forgave you long ago, my love. Doesn't matter anymore - no harm done. I stopped you from making a mistake you'd have regretted for the rest of your life. It broke my heart, but I had to stop you before you destroyed our love. Now, our story will live forever - thousands of years from now your statue will still exist. Whoever finds you will know you were loved - I've written down the whole story, here in my notebook - from the day we met to the day you died and the long nights I worked on your statue. The ashes buried in the bronze - all that was left of the earthly you and the hand that killed you, together forever. My soul might be damned and my name might be cursed for all eternity, but they won't dare deny my love for you.


Story written for @mariannewest's freewrite challenge. Today's prompt was: smooth as silk! Check out her blog and join our freewrite community.

Thanks for reading!

signature_1.gif



Image is mine.

Sort:  

That's quite a story for a 5 minute freewrite! I guess you have the talent and the hours of practice to make something come to life in mere minutes. You told the tale of a life, love and death in a flash and I enjoyed reading it; thanks for posting it here. :)

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25