Homeless Texas Fleas in a Freewrite Pile-UpsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Houseless

Begin Five Minute Freewrite: Homeless (handwritten in the INKcredible Android App):

Homeless!

Others think I have been homeless.

Houseless. Yes. Definitely.

Can't be homeless as long as we have a tent and/or a van.

I would do it all again. But could we please do it with a nice amount of money and no job? We've not tried that version yet. (End Freewrite for May 29, 2018)


Additional thoughts in the style of the # ublog category:

Homeless is a state of mind. Homeless or houseless, regardless, the mind and emotions definitely becomes fragile because of the constant exposure to the human race and feeling vulnerable during sleep.

The handwriting in the image was created by my hand in the INKcredible app. I really like it. I'm currently down one fabulous stylist which I need to replace so I'm not enjoying it as much as usual. My writing is better with a stylist.

The extreme makeover of the handwriting was created of course in PicsArt. However, unusually, it was made in the middle of a 2 hour long thunder and lightning show here in Kentucky.

Storms like this are perfectly normal in Texas where i grew up. I can remember quite a few nights lying in bed with my husband, 3 kids, and dog; basically waiting for the ceiling to fall in on us. It would go on for hours and we would drift in and out of sleep.

Storms like this are much more rare here, in Kentucky. Normally there will be a few thunder and bolt events before a heavy rain. So maybe 10 to 15 min to start the storm. And usually it's all over in under an hour. Even if there's a string of storms, they are usually spaced out with an hour or two between.

I'll admit. I am wayyy out of practice. I wasn't hiding under the covers but I was sitting in the middle of my bed, clutching the tablet to distract myself. Weirdest part was that there weren't crazy blowing winds. Just torrents of rain coming straight down and a very loud light show.

You know, come to think of it, Texas is where I first went houseless.


From one of my previous blogs circa 2006

Aarons Cows

On one side of our little RV was a field ... on the other, there was the lake. These are Arron's cows aka "my cows." The rains never stopped the summer of 2002 and they provided me with breathtaking skyscapes. I do miss having my cows right by my RV.

Just a little side note: I've noticed that in the spring the cows never lift their noses up out of the grass.


So this brings us to Texas as a Freewrite

Freewrite Texas

So obviously I write more with a real pen on real paper. Let me help you read that ...

Texas: My Homeland

I was born and raised in Texas. I raised my 3 children in Texas. I love Texas. I'm not going back -- probably.

There's always a part of me that is pretty sure that if I say "Never," I will be promptly transported back to the paved heat bordered by brown fields and stone mountains.

But there's a storage unit we sealed the door on 10 years ago... because then we could only think of returning.

Maybe we will visit in September and drag a trailer back. (END Freewrite for April 9, 2018)

And the first time I ever had a flea invasion was in Texas. That was truly harsh and that brings us to ...


Mrs Kitty McKitty the Huntress
Yes, she's hunting butterflies. For real.

The Official Freewrite for Fleas

Every year we have a go round with fleas. This year I figured out for sure that the moment that the cats don't want to come into the house, that's the moment to start spraying and treating everything. It's time to get rid of all the winter dust in all the corners, etc.

So we were going through this and every time we have to deal with pests i think of the plagues on Egypt. This year I started into a tirade to my husband.

I swear! if I had been an Egyptian when all the plagues came through, I would have been leading a rebellion. I might have even considered some strategic removal of that selfish, pig-headed king with a god complex!!

I mean really really! And our flea invasion is nothing compared to those invasions. Technically, a few fleas at night and a few fleas throughout the day are painful, disgusting, and alarming but they are not a full on infestation.

Anyway! You can imagine how I laughed when I saw the freewrite prompt of fleas. (END Freewrite for May 4, 2018) And obviously, I write much faster with a keyboard.


And that's pretty much my Homeless Texas Fleas saga brought to an end.

I'm going to go join Mrs. Kitty McKitty out under the trees. Fortunately those clouds have rolled on by -- as has the Freewrite for clouds (June 4, 2018).

If I did the freewrite about clouds, we would surely find out that I am fascinated by the clouds and how I watch the weather patterns split and flow around us. Is it because ever since we've moved here, I've asked Yehovah* for just the right amount of rain for anything we grow and the hay fields around us?

I suspect Yehovah, alone, knows because who would be tracking the weather in this little holler that is becoming host to city dwellers? Anyway, Today there's not a cloud in the sky. Laters!

Not A Cloud

*If you're wondering who this Yehovah is, please read: Yehovah: A detail that shook my religion and changed my conversation with God.

###If you follow me ...

  • Feel free to leave a comment telling me how inspirational my writing is ;-)

  • AND then you can also tell me what you've written about lately. LEAVE a LINK (live large, break the "rules" (here)).

  • And who knows, then I might like what you write and follow you around, too.

  • But if you don't leave a comment, I won't know you're real.

  • Plus!!! Do you know that I reward good comments?

But Wait! There's more! Check out these great people!

@tattoodjay started the # funkyedits tag. One of my favorite things to do.

@mariannewest

@mariannewest started and maintains the Five Minute Freewrite. She allows time travel. So, if today's prompt doesn't cause a spark, look at yesterday's. But don't be like me and stash them in your notebooks and journals.

Quite a community revolves around the Freewrite Prompts. So. @freewritehouse was born. There's all kinds of fun always. Plus there are Freewrite curations and interviews. Many Discord servers revolving around STEEM have a separate channel for promoting Freewrites but the Isle of Write hosts the Freewrite Retreat. (see below)

20180516_002249_0001.png

@SteemitMamas: Member Posts, Discord

footer SteemUSA & Isle of Write

@SteemUSA: Member Posts, Discord, logo by @BearOne Arly

@IsleofWrite: Member Posts, Discord, logo by @PegasusPhysics

If you don't leave a comment I won't know you're real

Above all, seriously, cut through the bot line and let me know you're real ! !

Sort:  

Another post by me (yes one a day for two days running!) I am George

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I love how you go from one prompt to the next :) And storms like that are something else. When you are in it, it feels the world has changed.
Always a pleasure to read your posts.

oh we're just storm central here the past few days. Yesterday it scrambled the items on my front porch. Fortunately Mitch was home and was able to help me snag our little seedlings without having the front door blown off too. There were some more trees lost in the neighborhood.

Today we were downtown. We were doing a little window shopping before going into a cafe. ZAP !!! a small lightning bolt crackled through the air and hit the window awning at the corner of the street. About 3 shops away from where we were standing! The boom was deafening. We took off for the cafe in a flash! lol

Lightning absolutely loves us!

Her post does read a little like a storm.

Good imagery.

Love it~!
I love your perspective on homelessness... Better defined as houselessness!

You also have lovely photos! ♥

Thank you!

I'm glad you enjoy the photos. Living in a lush spot on earth make photos much easier than in say Dallas TX.

If I ever end up without a house and without a tent or a vehicle, then I will feel truly homeless.

Although I suspect that, even then, certain spots in the world become home.

So true. Home is where your heart is... it doesnt have to be a certain physical place. ♥

Great read.

You have pretty handwriting. I love journals and journaling, and yours look lovely.

❤️ Hello from @steemitmamas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27