Freewrite hosted by @mariannewest Prompt: Talking Dogs

in #freewrite6 years ago

freewrite-church-metzli-3.jpg

We sat in the smoky room. It was hot. Its always hot there, even when it was cold. I looked outside at the dusty landscape, the chickens used to be there. The brick wall surrounding the house was radiating heat. Science class explained it as something, but it was too difficult not to see demons in the heat waves. I imagined the hooves I would be listening to at midnight. I couldn't believe I was spending the night.

I tried to take her talk seriously but the circumstances made it impossible.

She chose to tell me about her deepest, darkest fear.

Talking dogs.

She had a really deep explanation for the fear. I could see the seriousness and earnestness in her eyes. They way she described it, you could tell it was intense. But I was in no state to hear actual words.

Then that laughter that throws me off came again.

From her sister.

And then the talking-dog-fearing cousin started laughing too. Tears coming down her eyes, she was laughing so hard.

Why do we laugh when we are in pain? We must have been in lots of pain, because my stomach cramped I laughed so hard.

Years later we were watching youtube videos. Of "funny" dogs who talked. It was a compilation of real sounds dogs made put together in a format easy to understand. Short words dogs say were strung together to make whole sentences.

I was gripped with fear.

I met eyes with my cousin, who nodded at me acknowledging that she understood what I was feeling.

And then we both started laughing.


This is my response to @mariannewest's choose your own freewrite prompt. It was not my intention to write about inappropriate laughter again. But that is the nature of free writes, you write what comes. My story was going to be about how I fear talking dogs, but I went too far back, and five minutes wasn't enough to get back there.

20180516_002249_0001.png

images and graphics used are mine and compiled together using Canva or simply uploaded from my phone. except the banners which are used with the permission of the community who they were created for

Sort:  

GET 5 STEEM Bonus
Join our Site and get 5 steem airdrop on your steem account. The Campaign has start for attract new user to use our service and mass adoption. We have other offers please check below.
Get 5 STEEM CLICK HERE

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

I've been in that situation. May not be about talking dogs but definitely enough for me to burst out laughing. Boys! That's like really no holds barred 😂

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by metzli from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71