Enjoying What's Outside: My 5 Minute Freewrite Day 356 "Orange Blossom"

in #freewrite5 years ago

Orange Blossoms.jpg

Image Source

I have never been that into flowers. It's not that I think you have to be obsessed with them to enjoy them, but for me flowers and plants have always been associated with bugs and bees. Now an adult, I can appreciate these bugs and what they do for and for plants, but as a kid, a sniff of a flower meant trying to dodge the flight path of a buzzing bee. And what kid doesn't have a healthy fear of bee stings?

My Great Aunt Wilma was someone who loved plants and nature. She would spend days painting pictures of birds and plants. She's gone, but my wife and I have one of her lily watercolors hanging on our bedroom wall. It's a calming picture, both because of the beauty of the plant and the memory of my aunt.

I can't help but think that children today have even less of an appreciation for flowers. They would rather marvel at a video game on their computer then step outside to see what's around them. I don't expect this trend to end anytime soon. I may sound like a grumpy old man, but even those days dodging bees were better than my most successful sessions playing video games by myself in my room.

Nature is something worth taking advantage of, whether it's sniffing an orange blossom or appreciating a picture of lilies.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76