The Sun is Hiding -- ✏️5 Minute Freewrite Day 232✏️ -- ☁️☁️Depression☁️☁️

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Depression Clouds.png

Oh boy. Just seeing the word “depression” as the prompt for today’s freewrite gives me an itch in the pit of my stomach.

I have Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD). I was first given medication at the age of 9, which is no longer acceptable. Depression is just a part of life for me. I’m not alone nor do I think I’m special. I also consider myself lucky to have OCD and to not have a worse mental health issue.

Depression is a deep dark beast. It hides behind every corner and it waits. It waits for happiness to peak. Just when the sun starts to rise, this beast shoves it back down to hide it from your entire world.

Depression is deceptive. It’s a bitch. Sorry for the swearing, but it’s what’s coming out of me.

I imagine that everyone has gone through some sort of depression, but it’s still something that few of us discuss. Why don’t we talk about it more? Are we embarrassed? Are we afraid that someone will judge us for being depressed? Are we just not comfortable with it?

Whatever the reason we don’t talk about it, we need to. By talking about it, we can avoid isolation. We can bring others into our world to bring the sun back up for ourselves and for them. Company helps keep this beast away, and by knowing other people struggle from depression too, we will no longer hide alone in fear. We will have a friend to help us through these dark times.



This is my entry for @mariannewest's 5 Minute Freewrite Day 232. The prompt for this freewrite was "depression." This writing is unedited and was typed in 5 minutes, so please follow my blog for more polished examples of my writing, and thank you for stopping by!

Previous Freewriting Challenge Entries

Steemit Image.jpg

Opportunities to Earn Cryptocurrency

  • Bethereum: Social betting platform Bethereum (which has a unique coin and working beta), recently reopened their fun bounty program (you can even bet your bounty points on sporting events. Over 20,000,000 coins are up for grabs. Join the bounty program here.



  • Presearch: Earn PRE tokens for searching, and you can start with 25 free PRE. Presearch is building a full decentralized search engine and they already have a very useful search tool that you can use today and earn coins for using. Click on the banner to get started and click here.

  • Earn.com: Earn $1 in Bitcoin each time you complete a small task. Join here.

Sort:  

I so agree with you. why aren't we talking about depression and other mental health issues more? We still have a long way to go until we treat mental illness like we would a broken leg - but we are making progress.

Thank you for your freewrite!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93