The One Who Was Left Behind

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I am not being honest when I said that I don't mind if people come and go.



By now, I've learned that you can't and won't be able to hold someone just because you want to, even if you do everything just to make them stay. It's like I kept on holding onto people and they still leave anyway.


9AA0576F-453C-4445-B3D8-FBEC4F48D322.jpeg
source

But knowing that fact does not make it okay, it still breaks me into innumerable pieces just right before I heal from the last, last, last torment I've been through.


What makes it harder for me to understand is that these people who I hold onto, has a common way of leaving—

They left without giving any reasons.


They left without saying goodbye.


They didn't even made an effort to say it to my face.



I was always left clueless as if I don't deserve any compassion, the truth or even a little respect.


I tried to make myself believe that it's alright. I pretended it was my nature to give whether it be things, love or time and I must not ask anything in return.

I told myself it is okay.



But have you seen me now? I don't think 'okay,' made sense.


I became scared stiff of people, I spent majority of my life doubting everyone's motive. Trusting someone has never been on my plate. I built walls and egos so no one can get near me.


photo-1422190726583-404c3fded337.jpg
source



Now tell me, am I okay?


I wonder what difference would it make if they just manned up and told me everything I need to hear. If they just showed me some respect by telling me their reasons...


Maybe just maybe—I could have changed for the better. I might have the confidence to start over. I won’t be afraid to commit or to be in any relationship.


My life could have been smooth as a silk if they have at least consider little of what I feel.



“What was it like to lose him?" Asked Sorrow.
There was a long pause before I responded:

It was like hearing every goodbye ever said to
me—said all at once.” ― Lang Leav



TODAY'S PROMPT: SMOOTH AS A SILK


* Freewriting- is the practice of writing down all your thoughts without stopping, and without regard for spelling, grammar, or any of the usual rules for writing. It might include a topic (prompt) as a general guide, or it might not.
** Thank you @mariannewest for your initiative to run #freewrite, #freewritepoetry, #freewritepoetrydigest.



michellpiala300.png

Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @qurator, @acidyo, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @precise, @enginewitty, @noblewitness and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

It can be very hurtful when people just leave without saying anything. Especially as you'll always wonder one and it can be difficult to get the closure that you need.

It is always painful to be left behind but whats unbearable is the thought that we were clueless as to why? Thank you girlfriend @jusipasseti for having time to read!

Hey, @michellpiala.

Nicely done. I definitely felt the pain of the character/you (?) here. Realizing that nothing they did kept people around, wondering if trying to hold on was even the best thing, and yet knowing there was some accountability on those leaving to at least say something.

Very well written over all, and a great use of the prompt.

Thank you for taking time to read, I really do appreciate it.

Thank you for taking
Time to read, I really do
Appreciate it.

                 - michellpiala


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I think as a writer we want to listen more than speak and that makes us mostly intuitive. Of course, I have wandered off a few too many times and later felt like I should have listened more. Thanks for giving me something to ponder.

Here is today's prompt: Day 294: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: puzzle

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png

And now I can only wonder..is this fiction or written from the heart

either way, beautifully spoken!

HAHAHAHAHA @karinxxl, I'll leave that to the readers. Thank you dear! Much Love!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michellpiala from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74