A Story About A Minivan

in #freewrite5 years ago

The minivan pulls up to the young girl, standing on the corner. She quickly jumps in. The van drives off swiftly.

This is a life, far different from the place where I grew up. The beautiful sunny seaside resort is gone. Now, I'm somewhere in this large city with dark cloudy skies.

A row of lamp posts line up in the middle of the road. Ideal for lights but also useful for signs. Police warnings that read….

Kerb crawlers will be prosecuted.

That pick up place on the corner, it is just yards away from the local primary school.

The stereotype look of the girls. Leopard skin jackets and a short skirt. Reality tells you something different. It tells you that these girls are human and have found different ways to survive. Some of them are barely doing that.

Is this real life England? Had I been preconditioned by my beautiful seaside surroundings. For some, the latter will dictate their view of the world. I can't blame those that do.

“Why are you here?” I would get asked.

“My profession. My beautiful seaside resort home doesn't provide much opportunity.”

Instead, I'm in the city and rose tinted glasses won't work. No opportunity to bury my head in the sand. I can no longer just see what I want to see.

I have since made my home thousands of miles away. I meet lots of people from all over the world. One question, I often get asked is;

“What is it like in England?”

I can tell them one thing.

“Not what you think it is.”

image

Thank you for reading.

This is about my time living in Bristol. It changed how I view the world. However, I also like to remember the good things, including the people.

Task provided by @mariannewest

Task link; https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-501-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-mini-van

Sort:  

I suppose it’s much the same everywhere now, people doing what they have to to survive.
It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery technicians here with the word of the day: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-502-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-let-s-eat

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Yes, I think I'm just trying to look at it through innocent eyes. Thank you for reading. I hope you are well.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice or Drugwars

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71