A Story About Travelling Back In Time To See Queen

in #freewrite5 years ago

Jam Tomorrow.

I got the cue a few days back, but to me it feels like an instant. I wrote this story before jumping in my car and going ahead a few days. You've got to love time traveling.

It reminds me of the day I went back to 1986 to watch Queen at Wembley Stadium. For most people, the traffic jam will be the last few miles of the physical journey. For a time traveller, I experienced my first time-travel traffic jam.

A bizarre experience. When looking outside of the car window, there is nothing but darkness. Maybe that is space. All I received is a message from my car.

“You are in a time travel traffic jam. Please be patient. We hope you can continue your journey shortly.”

“But what if I miss the concert?” I asked.

I realised that I can't miss the concert because this is a time travel car and it will arrive at the right time.

The car starts to annoy me.

“This is a time travel car and it will arrive at the right time.”

"I just said that."

“You're impatient,” said the car. “That's why we have built in movies and music. Would you like to try?”

“Yes please.” I said. “Do you have Groundhog Day?”

“Yes.”

“Thank you, but before I watch I have a serious question.”

“What is it?” asked the car.

“If there is a time travel traffic jam, does that mean that most of Queen's audience is from the future?”

“I suppose so,” replied the car.

“Perhaps that explains why they were so popular.”

image

Thank you for reading.

Task set by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-9-2019-single-prompt-option

Sort:  

Wow... Time travel... I would love to try once too...

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 478: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: pig's ear.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20181119125715.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

What a clever and dense of humor story. I love this original perspective about time travels. For once, I didn't get a headache with time paradoxes (my nemesis) but it just made me smile.

Thank you. I think a story like this should be fun and not confusing. Thanks again for reading and your comment. I'm glad you enjoyed.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @mr-neil! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25