The Greatest Escape (Freewrite Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

5 Minute Freewrite task conceived by @mariannewest and @improv

Friday Prompt: depression kindly provided by @mariannewest

sea-3014623_1920.jpg

It has been a few days since I took part in the freewrite storytelling. I've had a cold for the past few days. Today's prompt is depression. A topic that makes me really think about how to approach today's task.

Today is not the day to wallow. I don't feel like that now. Freewrite is my escape. So today, I will escape. We will escape.

Where will we escape too? Somewhere quiet. A home by the sea. A quiet spot where one is able to just stare at the sea. Some days it is a calm beautiful blue. Other days it is ferocious.

But it a place to relax and calm and a place for that needed headspace. Will I learn anything?

One insight I have right now. Some of the stories that I have written, some of the crazy ones, have come from a dark place. A moment of tragedy that has been turned around. That should make me feel good.

But I also realise that some people are more melancholic than their stories or themselves show. Depression hides itself so well.

There are many ways to escape. This is not to escape my own self or situation. It is to change the environment. Somewhere away from the hectic; instead calm, so that can look and face the strange.

This is my environment, my great escape. It is a quiet spot surrounded nature, as I gaze at the spectacular sea. Sky Blue. Waves. Seagulls. Boats. This is my therapy.

lighthouse-2225445_1920.jpg

All pictures copyright free images from Pixabay

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

Thank you @ameliabartlett for the freewrite banner.

Link to the task and more details of freewrite
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-232-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-depression

Sort:  

I think it is good to have a place of refugee. I used to go to the ocean and jump in and dunk under the waves. After doing that 3 times, life was looking much better.
Later, I started hiking up mountains...

If you haven't seen the most recent prompt yet, here it is.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-234-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-caterpillar

I really just loved going for long walks when I was England. Either a coastal walk or somewhere with nature.

Thank you for the prompt. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71