Untitled Story Sponsored By Whoever Will Pay Me

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Written as part of the WeWrite competition.

We-Write! My Start and Your End

Prompt: smooth as silk

The Start of the Story

By: @freedomtowrite

Lydia touched the soft pedals that belonged to roses perched by her grandma's front door.

"Smooth as silk." Her grandma always said. "But be careful of the thorns, they prick."

It was true she realized, about more things than just roses.

Take this afternoon for instance. She had gone into work just like any other day. Her coffee still warm in her hand as she sat down at her desk.

But as she looked up to her computer, there stuck to the screen was a post-it note that read…

“…...come with me if you want to live.”

“What crackpot put that there?” said Lydia. “Someone has been watching far too many movies.”

“No, they haven't,” said a voice.

Lydia turns her head around to see a tall rugged unshaven man. Before she has a time for anything, the man pulls her arm and he drags her towards the exit of the building. She can also hear gun fire, so she feels she has no choice, but to go with it.

“Who are you?” she asks.

“Captain Birdseye,” replied the man.

As she gets nearer the door, she sees an empty long box with red roses scattered all around.

“They were from Susan's Flower Shop,” said the captain. “I hope you had your Kellogg's Corn Flakes this morning.”

“Stop!” said Lydia. “This is not an original story. It feels like someone is just trying to win a competition.”

“We need to go,” said the captain. “I'm just going to use my Sony phone to order a rescue.”

“Why do you keep mentioning brand names?” asked Lydia.

“Money,” said the captain. “We get paid each time.”

“Yes, I did have my Kellogg's Corn Flakes,” replied Lydia. “There's a free puzzle in the box.”

“That's a bargain,” said the captain. “Did you eat your hovis bread?”

“Yes, and it went nicely with my Twinings Earl Grey tea,” replied Lydia.

“Lovely,” said the captain.

“Hang on, aren't we in danger?” asked Lydia.

“It's ok, the robot has slowed down,” said the captain. “There is a Mars Bar machine in the lobby. He probably got tempted.”

“Looks like we're all getting paid then,” said Lydia.


Thank you for reading.

Freewrite, Qurator and The Alliance logos usually go here, but I'm off to make tea.

Have a nice day.

Sort:  

so funny!!! You should be a screenwriter LOL

Actually, a good point you raise. I sometimes wonder if my stories are more like plays. Maybe I should try writing one in script form.

This made me laugh outloud and then it earned a read aloud for my son! Thank you!

I'm glad you liked it. If you don't mind, I'd like to record this story over the weekend.

I did try, but for some weird reason, it just didn't happen. It is a tough story to adapt to a readaloud. Maybe I'll try another time.

Hello @mr-neil, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much for your support.

Whatta hoot!
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

Thank you very much @joe.nobel. I'm glad you enjoyed. I was going to record this but maybe I'll save it for a live test broadcast.

You had me at “…...come with me if you want to live.”
And a tall rugged unshaven man - oooh, yeah!
The humor is a surprise, after that thriller of an intro- and the vending machine. :) Love it!

Thank you very much. Big compliments coming my way. I loved writing this one, it was a lot of fun.
😀

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03