Free Write Friday prompt Coercion

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Friday prompt coercion by @mariannewest

After Florida passed the net ban we bought an old cabin cruiser, it was a 26 foot Stamas. We needed a bigger boat to fish offshore if we were to continue net fishing. We took the Stamas home and stripped everything out of it, took the cabin off, cut the floor out and scrapped all the floatation foam out of it, all we had was a bare fiberglass hull. Then we rebuilt it, we put a small cabin off to one side and a power roller on the other side, the roller is to help get the net back from deep water. It turned out to be a good boat except when it came to times we had to pull it out of the water, for the most part, we kept it tied to the fish house dock. To this day I do not know what was wrong with me but my husband had to use coercion on me every time we needed to pull it out of the water. I drove this boat in a fleet of 30 to 50 other boats and never had a problem but as soon as my husband said we were pulling it out of the water my heart would start racing, my hand would shake, I had a hard time breathing. I guess it was panic attacks. This only happened when we pulled it out, so I got to thinking why am I acting like this and came to the conclusion that as I drove the boat onto the trailer I could not see my husband standing at the trailer winch and maybe I was afraid I was going to run him over.

We had to stop offshore fishing because we were spending more on fuel than we were catching. We had to be out of state waters, which is 3 miles. The problem was the fish like to follow the reef and it is inside the limit, only after the weather was bad did they pull offshore, and then it was to rough for us to fish.

I caught this little angelfish/spadefish in my crab trap today.

IMG_20190809_155631.jpg

This redfish was too big to keep, it was 34 inches, I can not keep any over 27

IMG_20190809_142525.jpg

I caught 17 trout that weighed 32 pounds, I did not count the jacks but they weighed 30 pounds

IMG_20190809_163324.jpg

Sort:  

Hi!

Just stopping by to let you know there’s only two days left to enter this week's We-Write! If you want to spend a few more minutes writing fiction, you can check out the prompt here. Happy writing!

freewritewewriteyellow.png

@zeldacroft thank you for the offer to We Write but after reading some of the people's stories, I am nowhere near that level of writing. I did enjoy reading the stories.

Everyone's welcome, and it's not a skill-based contest so everyone can just have fun writing. We run it every week if you change your mind!

Too bad there are so many regulations that make your life harder. I don't think I would like driving a boat onto a trailer, either, by the way.

@scribblingramma it was only that boat, I put my boat on the trailer every day with no problems. the regulations are putting us out of business and catering to the guides they also are taking fish from people who don't fish but like to eat them. There are three edible sportfish in the river, snook, redfish, and trout. Trout is the only one we can sell, they took snook over 50 years ago and redfish 25 years ago. The consumers can never eat a snook or redfish unless someone gives it to them. That is why I like to give the redfish to people. There is no closed season on them but snook is closed conveniently when trout are open to us.

I wish I know how to fish too.

Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt.

Join us this once, we'll do you good
Write, express yourself, be cool.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-8-10-2019-single-prompt-option
...
Make way for the pros
Those who take the 3-in-1 are boss 😎
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/6aaocp-weekend-freewrite-part-1-the-first-sentence

Do have a glorious and nice weekend.

@botefarm thank you for the prompt. Fishing is easy, catching is fun if not trying to make a living at it. Give it a try, you could be a great fisherman.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09