Free Write Monday prompt Poetry Reading

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Monday Prompt Poetry Reading by @mariannewest

I have never been to a poetry reading but have seen them on tv, I think it would be interesting to go to one. I like the poems that make you stop and think. My Mother cared for a poet in her elderly days, her name was Laura Riding Jackson. She gave my Mother one of her books and signed it. Her poetry was over my head but did make me think..... I copied this poem of hers from Famous poets and poems.com it is called Yes and No

  • Yes And No by Laura Riding Jackson
    Across a continent imaginary
    Because it cannot be discovered now
    Upon this fully apprehended planet—
    No more applicants considered,
    Alas, alas—

Ran an animal unzoological,
Without a fate, without a fact,
Its private history intact
Against the travesty
Of an anatomy.

Not visible not invisible,
Removed by dayless night,
Did it ever fly its ground
Out of fancy into light,
Into space to replace
Its unwritable decease?

Ah, the minutes twinkle in and out
And in and out come and go
One by one, none by none,
What we know, what we don't know.*

Mrs. Jackson lived off-grid for most of her life, I remember going to her house and falling in love with it, it was an old Florida style home with windows that were kept open, no a/c, and it was not hot in her house. Her refrigerator was run on propane. She had a huge open shed filled with all sorts of old tools and hand saws. It was a place that when you walked on the grounds, you stepped back in time. She was in her late eighties or early nineties when the State told her she had to get power lines run to her home or move out. I do not think you should be forced to have power if you wish to live without it. But she had power put in and she did not live long after that. She also wrote my Mother a Christmas greeting, I can not remember what it said but it made no sense to me and asked my Mother what it meant and she shrugged her shoulders and said she did not know but that is how people like her talked.

Sort:  

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

That is unfortunate that she died soon after power went into her house. I think the power sources are part of what is making so many of us sick.

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-690-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-screeching-tires

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

@owasco thank you for the prompt and I do agree somewhat about having power and sickness. We never had A/C until the 2005 storms tore our house up we have it now and the house feels stuffy to me, we never open the window anymore, so I can see where if a sickness got in here it can not get out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29