Free Write Sunday prompt Plum cobbler

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Sunday prompt plum cobbler by @mariannewest

Aunt Mae and Uncle Richard were not really any kin but they were two people who I dearly loved. They had no children and were like parents to my Mother. They were who we stayed with when a hurricane was coming. We had Christmas at their house. They lived on the other side of the river and when Uncle Richard would stop in to see us I would beg to go home with him. He was a commercial fisherman and I loved to fish with him, from a little girls aspect he was my first love.

I do not care for plums and have never had plum cobbler, but my Aunt Mae would make the best mulberry cobbler you have ever had. They had 4 mulberry trees, the big mulberries. Aunt Mae would lay a sheet on the ground and shake the limbs letting the mulberries fall on the sheet. She would fold the sheet to carry them to the house, once there she put the mulberries in a tub of water. It was our job, the kids, to pick the stems off. She also helped. Our fingers would be purple.

I remember one time she asked me if I was eating the mulberries and I lied and said no, she said was I sure about that and I said yes mam. My lips and mouth were purple. She told me to go cut a king switch, I knew what that meant, I was going to get a whooping for lying. I told her I changed my mind, I did eat some. She always made us get the stick that we were going to get whipped with. I guess that was to give us time to think about why we were getting a whipping.

My Uncle Richard and Aunt Mae, Aunt Mae is eating swamp cabbage also known as heart of palm.

IMG_20170302_180655.jpg

Sort:  

I love heart of palm and used to cut it up on salad. I never saw any as big as that though! Great freewrite, as always, @myjob. Here is your next task:

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-661-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-kitchen

@fitinfun I find it odd you have never seen heart of palm this big, I have never seen it smaller, we call it swamp cabbage and have several trees of it. Once cut the tree is supposed to die, but one of ours that my husband cut grew back and now is big enough for him to cut again. We just boil it with onoin and bacon. I love it but it is a pain to clean.

@fitinfun thank you for the prompt

Cool story :) Looks like she's eating the head off a fish! Sounds like an Oregon story :)

I've never heard swamp cabbage called heart of palm. Or visa versa. Do swamp cabbages have roots like that? I don't think so, certainly not in NYS. And we don't have palms! Oh what a quandary to wake up to!
Nice story though. You have lots of those.

@owasco swamp cabbage is a type of palm tree. You clean away all the bark and the center of the tree you eat. You know when you come to the edible part because it is soft, easy to cut.

Oh! I was thinking of SKUNK cabbage!

@owasco I have never heard of skunk cabbage, is it a tree or plant?

It's a perennial wildflower that grows in wet woods. It has medicinal uses - I found this interesting link
https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/flowers/skunk-cabbage/skunk-cabbage-facts.htm

@owasco I would have never guessed it to be a flower, I will check out the link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94