Free Write Tuesday prompt Civil Rights

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Tuesday prompt Civil Rights by @mariannewest

Your Civil Rights is there really such a thing? I would like to think so but it only applies to a select few, if your boat has a commercial sticker, you are not allowed to use some public ramps. I would say this is a violation of my civil rights but the law says otherwise. I googled civil rights and this is the definition that Google gave. Examples of civil rights include the right to vote, the right to a fair trial, the right to government services, the right to public education, and the right to use public facilities. It is my opinion a public boat ramp would fall under public facilities.

You work for many years to pay your home off, you own it free and clear, with the exception of having to pay property taxes, I should change that, you never own anything free and clear because you will always have to pay taxes, whether it is a home, property or a vehicle. You think you own your home, then someone wants to put a road through your home and they can take it from you, I take that as a violation of civil rights to own your land.

If you want examples of losing your civil rights, become a fisherman, we have had many rights taken from us, it is not just the fishermen that lose when all these restrictions (laws) are passed against us, it is the people who eat fish but can not get out to catch them themselves, they end up having to pay more for their fish and some species they can no longer get, only people who have the time to fish can get them. Most fish that are sold in markets today have been frozen and shipped in. It is my opinion that their civil right to be able to purchase fresh seafood has been violated.

The wind has been blowing 25 to 30 knots so we have not been fishing. Tomorrow it is still supposed to blow which is ok because we have to drive to Cape Canaveral for another meeting about trout, we heard through the grapevine that they are going to leave our size limit as it is but they are going to cut us back to 3 months a year. There will be one more meeting after this one, I swear I do not know why they need so many meetings.

My husband came home today and said you want to try something new, I said sure. He bought sushi, neither of us had ever tried it. He opens the package and says they sure did not give us much avocado and I agreed. We split the avocado and I put my half on the sushi roll and popped it in my mouth. HOLY SHIT!!!!! that was hot, set my ass on fire, I was chugging my tea and eating the lettuce from the salad, he said it must be the avocado because his sushi was not hot. We did not see what all the hype was about sushi. I think we will stick to cooked fish and I will for sure stay away from whatever the green stuff was.

IMG_20191001_165101.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

@steeitboard wow, thank you, that is so cool.

I agree with you about the public boat ramp and don't even get me started about taxes. I hope you get some good news at the meeting. : )

Resident cat here, wondering what a fisherman/woman will have to say about baby talk. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-712-5-minute-freewrite-dwednesay-prompt-baby-talk

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite.

@whatisnew thank you for the prompt. Taxes are a bad subject for many, we are taxed to death.

😊 @myjob
When I think about taxes it literally makes my blood boil..!!
I have not yet tried sushi..!! I don't mind trying different foods. I don't even know where they sell or have it my area. But after reading your experience " set my ass on fire"
I'm like thinking 🤔😯...😳..!!
Most grievous and so sad what the Fishermen up againt all the time 😥😒 !!!!!!

@annephilbrick I do not know what all the hype is about sushi unless other places make it better than where he bought it. DO NOT EAT THE DAB OF GREEN STUFF!!!! We split it and I put my half on one sushi roll, HOLY SHIT it was hot. And I was upset because they were so stingy with the avocado if you ask me, they ruined good avacodo. We went to the meeting on trout today, they said they are going to cut us back from 75 fish a day to 50 fish, this was supposed to be the last meeting but now they decided they need to hold more meetings and they are going to have them in north Fl, we drove an hour and a half to go to this one and now they expect us to drive 4 hours one way, to the next one. I really doubt we will go. Yes, I understand why your blood boils over taxes, mine does, too.

😳😯🤬
Drive 4 hours one way..!! That's insane!
I will definitely avoid and not eat any "GREEN STUFF" with sushi...!! I don't see eating sushi anytime in the near future. Meatloaf,mashed potatoes and biscuits sounds far better.
:-)

@annephilbrick we will not be going to the next meeting. I do not think we will try any more sushi, my husband cooked what we did not eat. Yes, we are more meat maters and taters people we will stick to that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77