Free Write Tuesday prompt Screeching Tires

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Tuesday prompt Screeching Tires by @mariannewest

You know hearing screeching tires was a rarity but not anymore if you are anywhere in town you will hear it at least once maybe more times a day. More people more cars more screeching tires. I think it would be a good idea if they did away with all vehicles and go back to bikes or horses. It might take longer to get around but it would be safer and better for Mother Earth. My Grandparents on my Dads side came to Florida from Georgia in the late 1800s by Ox and wagon, They had five kids at that time, my Dad and two others were born here. If they could come that far by oxen, we should be able to get to work on a horse. That is just my thoughts.

Years ago my oldest daughter was going back to her house after visiting me and it was raining very hard. She had her young son in the back seat, he was in a car seat but was 4 or 5 years old. She hit a huge puddle of water and the car spun out of control, she said it did a few complete circles, I do not recall if she had screeching tires but will always remember her telling me about how her Son unbuckled his car seat straps and stood up in the back seat and said "Mom you need to call 911"

Since I can not get bait to catch trout I have been going to the beach to get sandfleas for the next fishing season which is pompano, they should be coming our way very soon and that is what I will fish for until next spring/summer if lucky. I have been to the beach three times and my calves are so sore from not being used to walking on the beach so I did not go today. I will try it again tomorrow hoping that a day of resting will help ease the pain. I really need to get stocked up on them. My husband tried to help get them but he got a half gallon and was so whipped he went to the truck and waited on me. I saw him go to the truck and not knowing how bad off he was I turned and worked my way back to the beach access. He was napping in the truck when I got there. So it is up to me to supply bait for both of us.

Sort:  

That’s a cute of your grandson saying, Mom you need to call 911!.”
I thought sandfleas would bite you, @myjob. They must be hard to catch for bait?

@redheadpei Yes I still get a laugh at him saying to call 911. Sandfleas do not bite, they do not have pinchers either. I have spent days looking for them. But once you find them and the waves are not too big they are not that hard to catch, it is a lot of work, today I had a hard time with the waves, they were coming one after another, as soon as I put my rake down the next wave would break on me.

I wouldn’t mind going back to horses and carts myself. I did drive for a while when I was younger but hated it so much I just gave up and ride a bike instead.
It’s the Wednesday delivery team here with the very poor prompt for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-692-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-poverty

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

@deirdyweirdy thank you for the prompt, it would be nice if we could go back to a more simple life like before technology.

No screeching tires here I wonder why you hear it more. This has to do with driving style too not just accidents.

Great your grandson said that. 👍

Lately, we spoke about car and horses and as we still drove the Oldsmobile. We came to the subject as I said they go to change the speed limit from 130 km/hour back to... (Not that we were allowed to drive that fast at most places plus the 130km max speed was only introduced a year or so ago.).

The great thing about the Oldsmobile was it could not drive fast and you drove more relaxed too. Now you are annoyed because 130 is allowed but because of roadworks you can only drive 60 km and life is fast nowadays.

It would be could but also mean less stress.

It is just a pity a horse is expensive here and so are the costs for keeping it. The government will still ask for road taxes.
We can also use the dog car again. There are plenty of dogs kept who can pull a car and now can not get rid of the energy.

Just a pity it is forbidden to use most roads. I intended to show you the sign but do not see an option to attach a photo 🤔

Okay I found it 😁.

I wish you a great day with love 💕
P.s. wake up your husband and let his find his bait 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty I think we hear more screeching tires because there are more. people. I have never heard of a dog car, is it like a horse and buggy? Husbands heart is not good and he should not be pulling a sandflea rake or anything else that takes a lot of work. I will let him sleep.

I end up doing a lot of things for my husband nowadays, too. He enjoys working in the woods, so he manages to cut the dead trees and thin the overgrown areas, and cuts firewood for our wood stove. He bought a wood splitter last year, and said he wished he had bought one 20 years ago. So much easier!

@scribblingramma I can not imagine splitting wood by hand in this day and age, I bet he is happy to have the wood splitter. It is good he can still work outside. I think you get old when you stop working.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27