Flower For Food - Freewrite Day 593 Entry & SBI Giveaway - Prompt: Carnation

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

The butterfly flew through the air, flapping her large, brilliantly colored wings lazily, just barely above the tops of the carnations she was flying over. The scents of this wonderful food drifted in the air, the smell incredibly alluring. But, she could afford to be picky, and was looking for just the right one.

Back and forth she flew through the field, pausing every now and then on a flower to inspect it more closely. So far, none passed her criteria, and her dainty little legs were getting coated in pollen from all the flowers she was visiting. Luckily the weight was hardly noticeable, as she continued on her hunt for the perfect flower.

And there, sitting by itself on top of a little mound, was a promising flower. A beam of light, piercing through the clouds, highlighted it's beautiful coloring, just as a puff of wind wafted it's enticing smells directly at her. She knew, even before landing, that this was the one.

Alighting delicately on the petals, she unfurled her proboscis and drank her fill of the sweet, sweet nectar. Happy and full for now, she flew off to enjoy the rest of this glorious day.


Greetings my fellow Earth citizens :)

I had planned on writing today’s freewrite about a more obscure form of pollination, and had even looked up some less common species. However, when I looked up carnations, they are apparently exclusively pollinated by butterflies so writing about anything else felt a bit disingenuous. Not that all of my freewrites adhere to reality, but having done the research anyways, why not stick to fact? Look for an upcoming freewrite about other pollinators though, when something fits.

Here is a picture of a butterfly doing their thing on what I believe might be a carnation.

Source

Here is a picture of what is definitely a carnation. It’s a really pretty flower :)

[Source](By Kenraiz - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, Link)

I’ve found a really easy way to get pictures for some of the more obscure topics that I write about. Instead of going to Unsplash or Pixabay, I just search on Wikipedia, and use the picture there. So far, every one that I have seen is CC of some variety, so it works out awesomely. I highly recommend it.

I am having my FreeWrite’s be an SBI giveaway. This is a way to reward my fellow FreeWriter’s, and hopefully motivate me to do daily freewrite’s again. No promises on that, but I am going to make an attempt.

What you need to do to enter is simply comment on this post with a link to your freewrite. I will then assign you a number, and when I write the next post, I will pick using a random number generator. There’s no need to resteem or upvote, though it would be helpful to allow me to do this contest for longer.

I am also hosting another contest if you would like to enter that as well. Everyone is welcome :)

Looking Back/ Looking Forward SBI Contest

Until next time,

Aloha


Here are the results from the previous giveaway:

@fitininfun: Entry #1 - https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/freewrite-day-592-ear-phones-aka-headphones

@wonderwop: Entry #2 - https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wonderwop/day-592-freewrite-tuesday

I used Google’s Random Number Generator (if someone has a preferred method let me know) and got 1. So @fitinfun, you are the lucky winner and get 1 SBI.

Thank you both for your entries, I enjoyed reading them, and I look forward to your next one.


Here are the people who have responded with their own freewrites and entered my contest. You should definitely check out these awesome writers :)

@wonderwop, @fitinfun, @owasco, @carolkean, @creativesoul, @samioli


This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-593-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-carnation

Prompt: “Carnation"


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.



Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much, @nmcdougal94. What a nice addition to freewrite these days. Here is my post for today's prompt:

https://steemit.com/busy/@fitinfun/freewrite-day-593-carnation

You found great pics. I end up researching the prompts sometimes too, but this post is from my memories :)

I'm glad you enjoyed it. A nice light story after my previous one haha.

You are entry #2.

It's funny how these prompts take us in strange directions. This is a big reason I love freewriting.

Right? I love the freedom to take it wherever your mins goes. It enables so much creativity :)

Thank you :)

You are entry #1

They are quite enchanting creatures :)

You are entry #3.

🏆 Hi @nmcdougal94! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @nmcdougal94 :) | For investors.

Thank you for the mention @nmcdougal94, I'll be back later after I #freewrite. 🤞

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

I loved your description of the butterfly with the dainty legs and unfurling her proboscis. It is a great day for butterflies when they can sip their fill of sweet nectar. I am looking forward to your freewrites about other pollinators. : )
Here is my entry if I am not too late. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@whatisnew/day-594-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-not-normal

Thank you :) I felt I did a good job with the imagery for this one. Hopefully I'll get that done soon.

Thank you :) you are entry #4

You got a 1.64% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nmcdougal94! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71