Freewrite Day 477 Entry - Prompt: lizard cave

in #freewrite5 years ago

Hello all,

This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I will be trying to get myself into the habit of doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these.


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-9-2019-single-prompt-option

Prompt: “lizard cave”


I finally made it. The famed lizard cave of Peru. I was right in front of the gaping mouth that was the entrance to the beautiful cave, filled with spectacular lizards of all shapes, sizes, and colors. With bated breath, I proceeded inward, not turning my headlamp on for fear of startling the little cuties. And what do you know, I had no need of it. The cave had bioluminescent moss draped everywhere, and was filled with a dim green light, reflections glinting off all the damp rock. In fact, the whole cave was filled with puddles, with water dripping down continuously off the stalactites, making a musical rhythm to accompany my adventure. And there, hanging off one of the stalactites, was one of the lizards I had come to find. A winged chameleon, found nowhere else in the world. These chameleons had horns, which is not all that uncommon for that type of lizard, but what made them truly fascinating was their extra folds of skin that allowed them to glide around. Here in the cave where they made their home, this allowed the winged chameleon excellent maneuverability while they caught prey out of midair with their long, sticky tongues. With a wiggle, it jumped off the ceiling, gliding back into the depths of the cave, starting what promised to be an incredibly enjoyable afternoon of lizard watching.


Unfortunately, this story is entirely fiction. Winged chameleons, to my knowledge, do not exist, but it would certainly be awesome if they did.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Until next time,

Namaste

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I was just about to ask about the winged chameleon... 😅😅😅

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 478: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: pig's ear.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20181119125715.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, I figured that it was realistic enough that it may be questionable, so I'm glad I included that. How cool would it be if such a creature did exist though? :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28