Freewrite Day 478 Entry - Prompt: Pig's ear

in #freewrite5 years ago

Hello all,

This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I will be trying to get myself into the habit of doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these.


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-478-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-pig-s-ear

Prompt: “Pig’s ear”


Walking into the woods, John daydreamed about his plans for the hike. He wanted to get up to the lake, so he could cool off on the hot summer’s day. Without really paying attention to where he was going, John walked on, getting deep into the forest, enjoying the shade, the smells, and the sounds of nature. If he had been paying more attention, he may have heard the rustle and snap of branches from behind him, but a particularly loud grouse had just exploded from the undergrowth in front of him. John started, scared by the grouse as much as it was by him, and tripped on an exposed root, sending him firmly to his rear, luckily on a soft patch of moss. As he turned around to get to his feet, he found himself face-to-ear with a wild boar. This pig’s ear was furry, and none to clean, but as John froze in fear, he looked into the eyes of this boar. To his surprise, he found them to be intelligent eyes, with a wise, kind being looking back at him. Cautiously, John got to his feet, keeping a solid lock on the eyes of this boar. With a gentle huff, the boar turned to John, and took a step forward. John tensed, but didn’t move. The boar took another step forward, and pushed it’s head into John’s hand. Shocked, but deeply pleased, John scratched the boar’s head. Its eyes closed in pleasure, but after a short while the boar turned around and walked away. John stood there, watching the boar walk away, relishing the moment. He always loved making new friends.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Until next time,

Namaste

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations @nmcdougal94! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts. Your next target is to reach 70 posts.
You published a post every day of the week
You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Well told story. Congratulations on becoming the latest #freewritehouse adoptee! You're off to a good start!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :) I hope you find the rest of my responses good as well. I'm surprised they chose me with how new I am to the community. It's exciting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great story! I write often about walks in the woods too. And congrats on your week of adoption by freewritehouse!

Thank you :) I wish I took more of thence but there aren't too many woods by where I'm currently living.

I'm very excited they chose to adopt me, but a little nervous as well. Hopefully people will continue to enjoy my writing.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was a huge boost for me, although I am still a very small fish. A very supportive community! enjoy.

Ah, the terms of Steem still are humorous to me. I wish us both luck in our journey to minnow and beyond :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I love pigs!!
And you own me with this: *as John froze in fear, he looked into the eyes of this boar. To his surprise, he found them to be intelligent eyes, with a wise, kind being looking back at him. *
Love it!!! (and the ending makes my day)

Thank you :) I'm thrilled that you liked it. I've been hearing so much about boars having problems lately, I wanted to make a nice story about a peaceful interaction.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh no, I hope they're not killing wild boars and making them out to be as bad as the big bad wolf. I love pigs - and wild boars - and lions - and bears - and wolves. The more teeth the better. :) Tusks! At eye level! Keep up the stories - salvage the reputations of the beasts!

Yeah, unfortunately that's exactly what's happening. There have been a lot of pushes for culls in the UK. This group (https://www.facebook.com/theboaringtruth/) was how I found out about it. They've been working on countering the propaganda for a long time.

I like that idea of a theme :) I will try to see if I can work that in as much as possible.

New friends are nice :)
You can make some at The House
110B1F42-8D0B-4FF1-8AFC-71A942555793.PNG

I'm hoping that I will :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice one. I miss freewriting! Would love to freewrite again. Hopefully, I can find a time.

I really just sit down, set a five minute timer, and write till it goes off, and then finish up my thought. Including posting time, its about a 10 minute process. And I certainly enjoy it. I hope you can find the time to freewrite again soon :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I am actually freewriting since it started back in 2017. I have been actively posting daily, however, things changed and it's been months that I am unable to post a freewrite. I may come back soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79