Freewrite Day 585 Entry & SBI Giveaway - Prompt: Tart

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

The orange dog caterpillar crawled up the tree. He was searching for the tartest of fruits, the lemon. He had been munching on a tasty leaf, low in the branches, when he spotted a flash of yellow as the trees blew in the wind. Smelling that strong, tart flavor in the air, he knew he wanted it, and started his journey.

Down the branch, into the trunk, and then upwards. He had lost the sight of the lemon, but now that he was on his way he was determined to get there. Inching his way every upwards, he came to another thick branch. Smelling the air, he caught a stronger wiff of the lemon. What luck! This was the branch he needed to go down.

As he made his way, he heard a familiar flapping sound. Twisting, he wiggled his tongue-like antenna, undulating like a snake. In another few seconds, the flapping grew more distant. He was safe, and could continue on his journey.

After another few minutes of traveling, there it was. The bright, yellow fruit of his dreams. He made his way to it, and started munching away. The tart flavor exploded on his taste buds. Ahhhh, this was what he had been working for. Life was good.


Hi there friends :)

My inspiration for this freewrite is the orange dog caterpillar. It unfortunately does not actually eat lemon apparently, it eats the leaves of lemon trees. However, I thought it made for a nice little story.

Interestingly, these caterpillar look like snakes. It is there defensive system, on top of their pretty strong smell that they can produce.

[Source](By Ianaré Sévi - Own work , CC BY-SA 3.0, Link)

They even have tongues. Camouflage is so impressive.

I am also going to be making my FreeWrite’s an SBI giveaway. This is a way to reward my fellow FreeWriter’s, and hopefully motivate me to do daily freewrite’s again. No promises on that, but I am going to make an attempt.

What you need to do to enter is simply comment on this post with a link to your freewrite. I will then assign you a number, and when I write the next post, I will pick using a random number generator. There’s no need to resteem or upvote, though it would be helpful to allow me to do this contest for longer.

Until next time,

Aloha


This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-585-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-tart

Prompt: “Tart”


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

As he made his way, he heard a familiar flapping sound. Twisting, he wiggled his tongue-like antenna, undulating like a snake.

Tension got all over me for a second there!

That was the goal :) I hope you enjoyed reading this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I am a nature lover and especially love butterflies. Can't have a butterfly without first having a caterpillar so you must know how much I enjoyed this fun story. I love the photo of the orange dog caterpillar too. If you ever have a photo of a butterfly you can enter my weekly contest "Thursday is Butterfly Day Giveaway" for a chance to win SBI. I love how your are giving away SBI with every freewrite you write. What a great idea! : )

Resident cat here, hoping to read more fun stories about nature. Here is today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-586-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-chapter

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Well that is awesome, I am glad that you enjoyed my writing. Butterflies are so beautiful, I wish I saw them more often but unfortunately they don't seem particularly common where I'm at now. Maybe when I get back to Portland I'll be able to submit some photos to that contest.

Thank you for sharing the new prompt with me :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for keeping me and butterfly photos in the back of your mind for the future. I would love to see your photos of them.
I wanted you to know that I recommended you and your freewrite as my favorite freewrite. Looks like it will be published. YAY! : )

Well thank you, I'm thrilled that you enjoy my writing so much.

What do you mean by published though, like in a compilation novel? By whom? Your link in the first comment doesn't seem to be working for the favorite post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi! Maybe I used the wrong word. No, not published in a novel. Every Friday the @freewritehouse posts a compilation of the favorite freewrites recommended by other freewriters. It is to get eyes on your freewrite and some upvotes. This is the one from last Friday.https://steemit.com/contest/@freewritehouse/friday-freewrite-favorites-week-5-22-2019-tell-us-about-a-favorite-freewrite

Thanks for letting me know about the link that didn't work. : )

Ahhh, ok that makes sense. Well thank you, I appreciate you putting my name in for that :)

You're welcome :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Love your writing...and such a great idea to combine your freewrite with SBI giveaways! I will add my link here to my own freewrite for the prompt 'tart' later on today.

https://steemit.com/dtube/@creativesoul/70dwydvq

Thank you :) I thought it would be a fun contest.

You are entry #3 :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :)

You are entry #4, and the final one. Got it in right as I started writing the next one haha.

!subscribe
What an awesome photo - I'd never seen a dog caterpillar before. And what a satisfying story. I totally expected our little friend to become lunch before getting to his own lunch, the tart and tasty lemon.

Thank you for the SBD incentive!

Makes commenting all the more lucrative, though for me, it would take an obscene quantity of SBD to be more rewarding than the comments and reader feedback. :) So, the ol' Read and Reply is still my motivation to post.
My freewrite: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@carolkean/you-little-tart-day-585-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-tart

✔ Hi @carolkean, you have just subscribed to @nmcdougal94!
From now on every new @nmcdougal94 post will be automatically rewarded with 0.05 SBD or STEEM from your @tipU deposit. First subscription reward has been sent :)
Subscribe and increase the reward for @nmcdougal94 :) | For investors.

It is the caterpillar for the giant swallowtail butterfly :) there are a few different caterpillars that have a snake like appearance, I think it's so cool.

I may do a freewrite where they end up getting eaten, but I tend to like them ending happy.

It's actually an SBI incentive, but I'm glad you appreciate it. I really appreciate the tipU, that is incredibly generous of you. I'm looking forward to reading some great content from people participating in this challenge.

You are entry #1 :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Was the flapping sound a human traipsing by?
This is a great story, I went on the journey with the caterpillar. And I seem to remember that you have written from an animal's perspective before, a snake maybe? Anyway, I like this story a lot.
And what a nice bonus, a chance for a prize! I so love the surprises on steem.
Here's a link to my freewrite today: https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@owasco/tart-a-freewrite

Oh. Haha I didn't consider that interpretation. No, it was supposed to be a bird flying by.

I have written about many different animal perspectives, it's just been quite awhile. I'm glad that you enjoyed it.

You are entry #2 :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yes of course. I guess as a human myself I am afraid of humans. A caterpillar would certainly be wary of birds!

I do always wonder how insects interpret us in their space. Are we a threat? Do we scare them? Or are we like trees, just part of the environment? Hmm. Maybe I'll do a writing about that at some point.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 1.48% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nmcdougal94! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Very cool photo and story. It seems that you were quite successful with your SBI give away!! Do you want me to include it in the prompt?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you :) there were some cooler images of this caterpillar, but not with the right kind of license to use.

Sure :) that would be awesome

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75