Mama Rat - Freewrite Day 481 Entry - Prompt: Sound of Sirens

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Hi there. I hope you're having a great day.

This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I will be trying to get myself into the habit of doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these. The Freewrite community has also graciously agreed to “adopt” me, promoting me on their page and giving me daily upvotes. It is much appreciated, and hopefully my writings will be up to their standards.

I’m thinking about challenging myself to make all of the freewrites I do match a particular theme. So far, I’ve had a suggestion to make them about wild animals that tend to get a bad reputation, from @carolkean. I’d be curious if anyone else had any other suggestions.


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-481-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-sound-of-sirens

Prompt: “Sound of sirens”


The sounds of the sirens wailing pierced the quiet night. The flashing lights of the police cars brightened up the dark alley where the rat hid, the red and blue shifts making everything jump. These loud noises terrified her, and she ran from the garbage can where she had been getting food, scurrying away from the flickering lights, shadows looming huge and then disappearing as the police cars passed by. She hugged the wall, her whiskers brushing against the brick as she sprinted back to her nest, to get to her babies. With a final burst of speed, she pushed her way inside. Moving aside the mattress stuffing she had found for her nest material, she wiggled her way to her squeaking babies, who had been woken from their rest by the piercing sirens. She curled around them, licking and comforting them while the sirens faded into the distance. Eventually, she would have to go back out and brave the alleyway to get food for them. But for now, she was content to hide away in this safe and warm space she had created.


To accompany this short tale, here’s a picture of a rat cuddling with baby rats. I hope you enjoy it. I’ve had rats before as pets, and they are quite cute animals that I feel get a very bad rap.

Source


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Until next time,

Namaste

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Uncle Bruni has pet rats too, I've never seen them or fed them but I can hear them in my attic. 🤣🤣🤣

Haha, well hopefully they keep to themselves and aren't too problematic of house guests. Thank you for the resteems and for sharing the new prompt :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my...! How many baby can rat deliver at once? This is too many.

Posted using Partiko Android

Apparently 10-12 per litter, and they can have a new litter have 3-4 weeks. They reproduce quite fast. Baby rats are so adorable though :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow that's a lot. Thanks for the info sharing. I think rat is a huge birth rate mammal. What do you feed them?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, they're definitely on the high range of that scale. The ones I have had, we just feed them pet store rat food. I think in the wild they eat seeds, roots, bugs, etc. Probably most anything that's edible.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good morning sunshine!

🔮Today's prompt delivered by Uncle Bruni🧙‍♂️
MomentCam_20190214092051.gif

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-482-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-magical-realism

Posted using Partiko Android

It is hard to be a rat for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have to imagine so :/ I feel bad for them. And for so many other wild animals who's lives are constant stress from birth to death. Sometimes I wonder if it'd be better to try and make their lives easier. I don't know. Is it better to be wild and struggle, or constrained in some way but have an easy life? I am not sure, but it's definitely something I contemplate.

Thank you for all your comments by the way. I'm sorry I haven't gotten back to them sooner. I had been waiting for my RC to go up, but I got another delegation so I don't have to worry as much.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @nmcdougal94, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you for the multiple upvotes, I'm glad that you are enjoying my content :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15