Stitch's New Beginning - Freewrite Day 493 Entry - Prompt: Stitch

in #freewrite5 years ago

Hello friends. I hope that you're doing well :)

This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these, and thank you to the people who have delegated SP to me to be able to continue utilizing the Steem platform. I'm very grateful for all the support.

I’ve been challenging myself to make all of the freewrites I do match a particular theme. So far, I have made them about wild animals that tend to get a bad reputation, and am finding it to be a very enjoyable challenge. This prompt has triggered some fond memories of the cartoon character from my youth, so I won’t be taking my normal approach.


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-493-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-stitch

Prompt: “Stitch”


Experiment 626 woke up in the wreckage of his escape pod, strapped in tight to the command chair. It had been a hard landing, but that’s what happens when you blast out of a prison vessel without properly putting in coordinates. He tried opening the safety restraints, but they were shut tight. Grabbing them with all four arms, he pulled with all of his might. With a loud tearing sound, the restraints gave way, and he clambered out.

He looked around this new area, giving it a few good sniffs. This planet was not one he was familiar with, but it looked more hospitable than some of the places he had been recently. He walked over to a tree, and tapped on it a few times. Something fell out of the tree, smacking him hard on the head. With a terrific leap, he threw himself backwards, prepared for further assault from this alien being. Seeing nothing forthcoming, he took the opportunity and struck first, felling the tree with one mighty blow.

Taking a moment to breathe, he looked around, analyzing the situation. And to his dismay, he saw on the ground a large nut. Presumably this was what had struck him. “Ah, how silly of me,” he thought to himself. “At least now I don’t have to worry about the trees attacking me here.” He walked over to the nut, and picked it up with two of his limbs. It seemed to have a tiny crack in it, so he sniffed that. To his surprise, it smelled delicious. So he grabbed the nut a little harder, and started pulling apart. With a loud CRACK it split apart, dousing him in sweet smelling liquid. He blinked a few times, surprised, and then licked all of it off his face and body. It was as good as it smelled.

Free food. Clean air. An open sky with stars. He could get used to his.


So for those who don’t know, Experiment 626 is one of the main characters in the movie “Stitch.” I really enjoyed it as a child, and it is definitely up there in my favorite movies. If you get a chance, it may be worth watching. Definitely on the childish side, but there are some interesting themes regarding alien interaction in there.

Source

I also really loved the TV series that spawned from this movie. They had nearly all of the other Experiments, the 625 preceding Stitch. I should really try to find it sometime. Does anyone know where it may be accessible? It’s so hard to find some shows sometimes.


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Until next time,

Namaste

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Ahhhh..... I remember Stitch too! My kind of cartoon too. =)


And, I am here to deliver the next prompt to you. Here it is, check it out! It is 'turn signal'.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page to join more awesome contests at the
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Did you ever watch the TV series, or just the movies? I really enjoyed the series, it fleshed out the characters a lot more in my opinion.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97