Mountain Trail: A five minute freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

I'd planned to write a post about all the prep I've been doing for my son's play, but the pictures I have aren't that greatest so I'll have to wait on that for a few more days. So instead I managed to get out a freewrite based on the prompt posted by @mariannewest in this post: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-592-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-ear-phones

The warm wind brushed past my face as I ran along the trail. Usually this high on the mountain the temperature cooled, but not today. I felt the sweat pour down my face and neck, but I ignored it and kept my pace up to the tempo of the Top Gun soundtrack, minus the love songs.

Another ten minutes up the trail and my ear phones wouldn't stay in. Even my ears were sweating! I let them fall around my neck and kept running. Their bouncing around proved more distracting than I thought, but I was almost there so I pushed on.

The ground began to rise up and the trail went left. I dove into the forest to the right to a lesser-used trail. A game trail I'd discovered years ago. Down I went, slowing my pace so I wouldn't fall.

Strange I could hear a gurgling, but I recognized the cool air immediately. It was nearly the end of July and this place always stayed cool, even on the hottest days. Today it felt refreshing like a blast of cool air from the freezer when you open it.

The trees finally gave way to low brush and ferns along the edge of the creek. I slowed, marveling at how much noise the little bit of water made. I heard birds, and what I think were squirrels twittering away.

Not long after I reached my destination, a low cave still half-filled with ice from winter. From the mouth of the cave came a steady stream of clear water from the ice melt which merged with the spring-fed creek. I reached down and filled my hands with the freezing water and drank.

As I bent over, my ear phones slid down and hit my face. I'd forgotten them after all, listening to the songs of nature.

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Proud to be part of the

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest

Thumbnail by Image by SplitShire from Pixabay
All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Freewritehouse, and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  
@autovoters & @talentclub supporting your good content :)

There is nothing better than listening to the sounds of nature to tune out the world. Thanks for refreshing me with the clear freezing water. : )

Resident cat here, giving you a carnation and today's new prompt.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-593-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-carnation

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Hi, @ntowl!

You just got a 1.12% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @ntowl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 36000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 37000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @ntowl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.908 which ranks you at #11255 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 170 places in the last three days (old rank 11425).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 279 contributions, your post is ranked at #123.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14