Crazy

in #freewrite5 years ago

vlcsnap2019051212h46m57s357.png


"Crazy" is currently my go-to song whenever I am given an opportunity to sing in public. While I am singing it I feel pretty hot. I am listening with my eyes, sound mostly in tune (a bit flat on some of those B flats!) and am going with the lyric.

I sing now and then at an open mic at Maureen's Jazz Cellar in Nyack, NY, usually accompanied by my music teacher, David Budway. Now the Budman is a real deal teacher, and one of the things he is teaching me is how to respond when singing with different accompanists. He tries to do what they might do so that I am prepared and can adjust. He has, for instance, excessively noodled while I am singing, or gone whacko during his solo so that I get lost, or added measures in the intro, or given me a bell tone in the wrong octave and the like. During a lesson, this is super fun.

A friend, Ray Wright (my biggest fan), videotaped "Crazy" for me this past Tuesday. I just watched that tape: a little flat on the first B flat, I little yelly toward the end, a funny face in the saddest parts. I found a million things I didn't like about it, as usual. I have some work to do.

But the best/worst part of the video is the part where my dear accompanist the Budman modulated the key up 1/2 step and brought me back in at an unusual place, both without my prior knowledge. This is the face I made:

vlcsnap2019051212h44m41s451.png


This is my entry for @mariannewest freewrite
https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-5-11-2019-single-prompt-option. Thank you for reading it.


The images are from the videotape made by Ray Wright.

The next time the Budman puts me up there with only him, no bass, no horn and no drums, I'll know he's up to something,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75