Day 501: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: mini van

in #freewrite5 years ago

IMG_20190305_110538775_HDR.jpg

I once owned a succession of mini-vans. They each had a story I could tell you about.

The first was a Chevrolet Caravan, which turned out to be shit kicker brown - not what we imagined when we chose the exotically named color at the dealer. I hated that color, but not the car.

The next was also a Caravan - this one was stolen from right in front of our brownstone in Sunset Park Brooklyn. When the cops came to our house to take the report, they wouldn't take it because my husband was not home. There I was, alone in the house with my three very young children, a baby in my arms, and the cops would not help me because they thought I was pissed at my husband for not being home and I had called them just so they would harass him for me while he was out driving around in the car. That car eventually was totaled in a high speed chase between the thief and the cops. We got a lot of money for it from the insurance company, so it ended well.

Then there was the third Caravan that one of our employees blew up as he tried to push our full-sized van that had broken down back to our store by pushing it with the Caravan. It's a good thing I liked him. I wonder if Tony has survived in this life.

I can't forget the final Caravan (yes, that makes four Caravans in a row), the best of them all, painted all fancy to promote our business, and a car we unfortunately lost only because our lawyer had structured the sale of our business incorrectly.

That was the end of our Chevy Caravan binge.

After that there was the Mazda, known as a micro-van, and held together with bungee cords during the years I could barely feed my children. The first time I used valet parking was with this car, and I was deeply embarrassed by it as I stood with the others waiting to get into their BMW, their Mercedes or their Lexus.

Since my succession of mini vans, I have owned two cars that I loved: a Toyota Scion, one of the early ones (super cheap, super fun to drive, super good on gas and super good in snow!) and now I love my Honda fit, another micro van also good on gas and in snow. It's a great color which I can always find in a parking lot.


This is my entry to @mariannewest freewrite challenge https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-501-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-mini-van

The image is mine of my current wonderful car. That thing, not a hybrid, can get well over 50 mpg on a highway if I drive it right.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Can't beat a van. Mine has a broken bumper from hitting a roo.

What was the advertised colour if not shit kicker brown?

Luminescent purple or something. Bummer about your van. Here we hit deer, but I'll bet the danger and damage are about the same.

Kangaroo as road kill - omg! - only in Oz! (You're in Australia, I presume?)
You beat me to the question on what the dealer name of the color was.
@owasco what a HORRIBLE story - the cops blowing you off - and then Tony blowing up Caravan #3. Sounds like a candidate (heaven forbid, knock on wood) for a Darwin Award.
Your posts are always funny or horrible but funny and fascinating!

This one is all true. I seem to be on an autobiographical streak, although they are not always completely true. Remembering accurately can be just as challenging and gut wrenching as making stuff up. The funny in my stuff surprises me. I'm not one for telling jokes, and I often don't get jokes. I've said "I have a bad sense of humor" countless times and here I am a regular Cassandra. Maybe I'm challenging you.

Oh man, me too: I'm not one for telling jokes, and I often don't get jokes. But I love understatement, irony, and the surprise twist. Chicken jokes crack me up because the original (Why did the chicken cross the road) primes the reader to expect a clever punchline, not the no-brainer, "To get to the other side." So I love "Why did the bear cross the road?/ It was the chicken's day off" and memes like "I dream of a better world where chickens can cross the road without having their motives questioned." (Bill Murray). Or this Tony guy pushing a stalled vehicle and blowing it up... truth is almost always stranger and funnier than fiction!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and/or a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sounds like the Caravans brought a string of bad luck and I hope your Honda fit stays fit for you. Fun stories at your expense. : )

Resident cat here, helping to deliver today's new prompt. Hope you are hungry: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-502-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-let-s-eat

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15