Help-less~ Day 291 - 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt Helpless

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Today I am diving into @mariannwest 5 minute - Freewrite / Day 291. You can find it here: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-291-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-helpless You still have time to join and I hope you do.

I had given so much
In so many different places
To so many different people
Yet I struggle and my cupboards are empty
Too often to nourish me

I have helped my family and my friends
I have done this relentlessly again and again
Yet they all still greet me with hatred
And cold shoulders that are often too much to bear

It takes my breath away as I struggle to comprehend
Why they don’t care,
When All my life I have only supported them
Given to them, Loved them

Now on this morn
As I sat out to adorn myself
In a whole new way
I have chosen for now
To step away from all the kin & friends
That I seemed to always offend

I have chosen to draw a line for me in the sand
Separate from all the rest
And do more self-nurturing and self-loving
And spend seasons without end giving myself the best
As I refocus I am mindful of what and how I give out
In this season I will help…less.

Cover Image by magicallymessy.com

Sort:  

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Thank you for sharing come and check my blog and upvote my content https://steemit.com/@parmpal007

A lot of emotion in this one. Good freewrite 👍

This is a hard choice, but at times necessary to our survival. There is a time to prevent abuse of kindness. Well written poem.

Good for you! Fill your own cup first...Resteemed

Hello @rensoul17! Thank you for sharing your poetry. Reframing your last line-- rather than giving less, perhaps you are truly giving more in the form of self-care. Put your oxygen mask on first when the cabin depressurizes.

Perhaps today's prompt will inspire something dreamy.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-292-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-overslept

Thank you good to hear from you. Been missing you. @eyedreemit. Also, I was just about to check to see what today's prompt was. Thanks

It's awfully hard to separate yourself. I'm just realizing this now, that the people you help won't always help you back and the people you thought were your friends might not be, really. Nice work! :)

I relate with this all too well. Wonderful poem and I almost shed a tear! Powerful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77