5 min Freewrite - Muscle

in #freewrite5 years ago

muscle.jpgSource

This is my entry for the Daily Freewrite Challenge hosted by @mariannewest. You can find the prompt here. Anyone can enter. If I can do this, you can too!

Check out the prompt post even if you do not want to participate. It is filled with all kinds of helpful tips and links.

Prompt: muscle

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite and #freewritepoetry if it turns out to be poetry
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

I was in high school when I went to the gym for the first time. I was playing rugby and needed to add weight and muscle to make it into a regional representative team. Since I'm naturally a big guy, the idea of needing more muscle had not featured in my thinking before then. However, I loved the exercise. (Yes, that was many, many years ago and things have changed.)

After making the team and then losing interest in playing rugby, the exercise in the gym also lost its allure. I was never the best looking or the most muscled guy in the gym. Just quite often the strongest guy.

My brother never understood my interest. He explains it in this way.

He went to the gym once. After looking around, he tried to do the things the other people were doing. And guess what! He got it right the first time. It was easy. He just does not understand the people who need to go back day after day to practice getting such simple actions right...

In general, I just do not like the repetitive nature of weightlifting or just about any other exercise in a gym. It is difficult to keep going as it gets boring very quickly. I prefer exercise that results from some kind of competition. When I'm competing I'm not even aware of how tired I am.

@reonlouw




Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 1.59$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

I am not a gym person... Well... I am not into exercise either... I know I should but I am just too lazy to move around... 😅

Thank you for freewriting with us! I am here to deliver prompt:- Day 354: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: not smart.

Share with us your Favourite Freewrite and win SBI.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20180924103629.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

I know what you mean, the repetition of any exercise can be quite irritating, but also beneficial if you stick with it. Nice freewrite!

Here's the next prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-354-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-not-smart

Hey, @reonlouw.

I have to admit, I like the way your brother thinks. :)

You do nail it on the head, though. Repetition tends to lead to boredom which turns to disinterest. It is far better to do something that is competitive, because there's motivation and a goal in mind that has shared value. Which I guess means there needs to be workout competitions, which would probably miss the point of what the workout is for in the first place. :)

At any rate, going to the gym does not appeal to me. If I'm going to exercise, it's going to be alone. Don't need the company. :)

Nominated this freewrite for the weekly contest :)

I generally prefer exercise with a purpose as well - like walking or biking to a store or to see a friend.. Stuff like that.

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87