5min Freewrite - orange blossom

in #freewrite6 years ago

blossom.jpgSource

This is my entry for the Daily Freewrite Challenge hosted by @mariannewest. You can find the prompt here. Anyone can enter. If I can do this, you can too!

Check out the prompt post even if you do not want to participate. It is filled with all kinds of helpful tips and links.

Prompt: orange blossom

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite and #freewritepoetry if it turns out to be poetry
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

I am not someone who has great knowledge of plants, trees or flowers. And my knowledge of the orange blossom is very limited. The whole freewrite concept, I think, precludes me from doing any research, even research as basic as doing a Google search. Thus I will just have to make do with what I think I know about orange blossoms and that is not a lot. I am not even sure that the picture I found on Pexels.com is really of orange blossoms.

Here is what I think I know.

Orange blossoms are used for many different reasons. Perfume can be made from orange blossoms. And no, it does not make you smell like oranges.

They are popular at weddings but I have no idea why. It seems like a difficult flower to put in arrangements. I attend a lot of weddings but not many receptions. And at the part I am involved in I am so nervous I do not take note of the flowers but I often hear brides consider orange blossoms for their wedding.

Maybe the most important thing I know about orange blossoms is that they make the most delicious honey. I have only tasted it once but I remember the moment, the taste and the immediate impulse to get a hold of more. That I have been unsuccessful to find more over the years is more a reflection on where I live than on how hard I have tried. I recommend that you try it if you ever have the opportunity.

On the side of this, I need to mention that honey made from sugar cane is not that great. It never made sense to me, but it has a horrible taste and I would have thought sugar would make great honey.

Okay! I hope you will correct me if I made any incorrect statements.

@reonlouw



Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Orange blossoms for weddings, never heard of this before. Only know they are delicious to eat the fruit, would be reluctant to take blossoms from the tree not knowing if the harvest is more productive to wait for @reonlouw

Visiting from #steemitbloggers #qurator and #teamsouthafrica

orange blossoms make the most delicious scent in perfume! that's what my freewrite will be about today! heheehe a little snippet of a story!

and i've had orange blossom honey before - its decadent!!!!

I think you have included quite many points on orange blossom here. :)


And I am a late today in delivering the next prompt to you, here it is, check it out! It is 'Freedom of Personal Power.'

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 1.28$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85