Weekend Freewrite: Riding out the Storm

in #freewrite5 years ago

taxi-355625_640.jpg

I left the house, feeling like a piano had been dropped on my head. The taxi stood waiting for me. Why did my head ache so badly? Oh yes, I had been drinking too much. That will do it every time. That heavy, aching head always caught up with me, sooner or later. I wonder who called the taxi? I don't remember doing it. Maybe Betsy had done it. She usually looked out for me at these parties. Good ol' Betsy. We've been friends for at least ten years. Never dated, but always showing up at the same functions.

I gave the taxi driver my address and leaned back in the seat, exhausted. I glanced at my watch: 10:00. Presumably a.m. because there was light. At least it wasn't glaring sunlight. That would have made my head worse. Clouds were my friends today.

The taxi driver pulled up in front of my apartment building and I reached into my pocket for my wallet. Oh no! It wasn't there! I must have left it behind at the party! This was really going to be embarrassing.

"Ummm, could you wait while I go in and find some cash?" I mumbled. "My wallet has gone missing."

"Sure, but the meter is still running," the driver reminded me. I stumbled up the steps and into my apartment.

The only forces now in play were the hurricane winds flinging everything in their way towards their shelter. Wait, toward what shelter? Wasn't this my apartment? And where did the hurricane come from? Wow, that storm really came up quickly! It was cloudy a few minutes ago, and now this ridiculous wind, flinging me toward the shelter of my apartment. Apparently, plenty of other people were being flung toward this shelter, too, because at least half a dozen total strangers shoved in the door behind me.

"Dude, glad you showed up and opened the door! It's horrible out there!" exclaimed the leftover-hippy guy with the piercings and tattoos.

"It is so nice of you to share this space with us until the storm passes," said a sweet-looking little old lady.

"Do you think this building will withstand the weather?" queried a young mother clutching an infant.

"Ya got any chips and beer?" was what the grizzled old homeless man wanted to know.

"Can I use the bathroom?" demanded the curvy teenage girl. "My makeup got smeared out in the rain."

"Make-up now optional," said the foreigner with the accent. "Weather big problem. Appearance small problem."

While all this discussion was taking place, I was fastening the shutters, unplugging appliances, and getting out bottles of water for everyone. "Sorry, but this is all I've got to share," I apologized. "I had no idea a storm was blowing up, nor had I any idea I'd be getting visitors this morning. Please, help yourselves to some water and make yourselves as comfortable as you can."

Sure enough, the power went out. I got out a flashlight and my battery-operated radio and tuned into the local weather station. "This is gonna be a big one, folks! The worst of it will pass to the south, but we are in for plenty of wind and rain. Power outages are already widespread. Please try to stay indoors and off the streets for the next few hours."

We all sat and stared at each other. There we were, thrown together by a storm, complete strangers, all in need of a place for shelter. And I had a hangover that wouldn't quit. Would it be rude if I just went to the bedroom and shut the door?

Just then, the infant began to cry. I stopped short on my way to the bedroom and looked at the young mother, who was on the verge of tears. "Would you like to take the baby into the bedroom to feed her?" I offered. Nodding gratefully, she headed down the hall in the direction I indicated.

"Okay," said the little old lady. "We might as well play twenty questions."

Over in the corner the taxi driver spoke up. "The only question I want answered is this: who is going to pay for the taxi fare?" But the taxi had blown away in the wind.

image credit

A weekend freewrite features not one, but three prompts: the first sentence, the interference, and the dramatic twist. The idea is to use the first sentence prompt and write for five minutes, then continue for 5 minutes with the interference prompt, and finish up for 5 minutes with the dramatic twist, without peeking at the second and third prompts in advance. It is quite an interesting challenge! Thanks to @mariannewest for providing all the prompts!

Sort:  

I am just giving you a quick vote before going to bed. Have to read it tomorrow since i didn't write mine yet :)

That's kind of you! I'll be sure to look for yours later!

hahaha
Weather big problem, make up small problem ....especially the kind that can blow away a taxi ;)
Okay so too late to give the prompt but I can give you an invitation ;)
110B1F42-8D0B-4FF1-8AFC-71A942555793.PNG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89