Day 658: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: coercion - "Reflecting on - -"

in #freewrite5 years ago

8-9-2019

Legend of the Odd Woods

The Camp Site

I don't know why I caved in to the coercion from my so called friend. I just did. I guess it was easier than just saying no, but truth be told after his telling of the second hand story he had over heard while drink beer down at the local bar, (it was really a bad dive to be honest), I just had to go and look. He was half toasted when he heard the story he admitted, but he said he really did hear it and was not making it up. He would go investigate himself, but he could not afford to take the time off of work.

It was an intriguing story he had related. It took me some time to find the root of the story, but find it I did, and coerced or not, I just had to know the truth of it. I thought about all of this as I was setting my camp up for the night beside the small babbling brook. I was not to concerned with the disappearing trail, it was all part of the story. I do admit though I was a little bit worried. I had been on the trail for four days and strange things were happening now that the trail had ended. The thick heavy fog, and then this little clearing/campsite by the creek. The grass area looked mowed, just enough room for a small enjoyable campsite.

DSC_7798 resized tree lawn.jpg
{Okay time is up}

Okay that pretty much was the five minute timer, a little bit over, but not by much. A sort of follow up to my Story Post from a few days ago, I will try to add a bit more to it on Saturday, but no guarantees.

This short segment was bought to you via @mariannewest and her five minute freerite prompt - Coercion.

Part One -Legend of the Odd Woods

Sort:  

Hi!
Just stopping by to let you know there’s only two days left to enter the We-Write! If you want to spend a few more minutes writing fiction, you can check out the prompt here. Happy writing!

freewritewewriteyellow.png

Well done @shadowmask, the mystery tightens and I would very much like to read more, it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 3 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in todays Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

Uhlala, am all the way up for this. Kudos.

Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt.

Join us this once, we'll do you good
Write, express yourself, be cool.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-8-10-2019-single-prompt-option
...
Make way for the pros
Those who take the 3-in-1 are boss 😎
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/6aaocp-weekend-freewrite-part-1-the-first-sentence

Do have a glorious and nice weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30