The Frosted Window - Chapter 5 -A continuation of The Green Door Prompt (Day 19 of the Freewrite Challenge - The Big Freeze)

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Original Picture I used for the 1st prompt

Chapter 5

Day 19 - Prompt - The Big Freeze
     Mindy Lyons swallowed a lump in her throat as she walked back toward the break room. Who was the man with the camera? Was he spying on her? Ted Rogers is fake name if she ever heard one.
     He knows, she thought as she stepped into the break room. "Why else would he be here?" she mumbled, and the toe of her shoe kicked a water bottle. She stopped. The air in her chest tightened. The corners of her lips jerked as she watched the water bottle roll to a stop with her initials up. A moan escaped from the depths of her throat as her face paled.
     "No," she said. "Oh god, he picked my bottle up." She thought back to the night of the big freeze, and the pale hand that slapped against the snow frosted window.
     Someone found the body. She remembered the gold wedding band on the ring finger scraping against the glass as the hand slid down the window.
     "He made me do it," she whispered, and spun in a circle, and ran a hand through her hair, thinking of her next move. It had been five years since she had locked her father out of the cabin that night. The confusion and hate in her fathers eyes haunted her dreams. She wished she could wash away the memories of that night. Ever since she had done things, horrible things. The emotions sneak up on her and force her to do terrible things. The emotions distort reality, twisting it into a dream like state, and it nags at her, begs her, teases her, and most of all loves her. It made her feel alive and free, satisfied and pure, but once reality distortion was over the guilt washed over her, making her feel dirty.
     "What am going to do?" Her knees were weak and sat at the table. She pushed the other water bottles off to the floor, and shoved her fist in her mouth. She bit her knuckles as tears rolled down her cheeks, and dripped of the jaw bones. She could smell that musky onion smell and knew one of her distortions were coming.
     She stood, and using the back of her knees, she pushed the chair away, and it crashed to the floor. The pressure in her chest grew stronger. The buzzing in her ears made it hard to think. Her body shook as she rushed through the door, biting her knuckles. She could taste iron as blood ran between her lips, and dripped from her chin, staining the collar of her shirt.
     "Bite," she mumbled with her knuckles shoved in her mouth. The pain would keep her in reality until she made it home. Then she could lock herself in her apartment, and cuff herself to the bed until the distortion passed. And she bite. Her teeth ripped through the flesh and scrapped bone. The pain felt good, keeping her in the right frame of mind.
     She ran through the parking lot, jumping over bushes, and ran down the side walk. Her apartment was two blocks away. If she hurried she could make it home before the distortion over took her. Already her vision was blurring. She ran... 5 Minute Timer

Note

     Today the words flowed with ease. It makes me feel alive when I'm in the zone. The prompt was a hard one and I worked it in. I hope it is believable. From a lack of a better name I just called in The Frosted Window. I had to change point of views. Things were slowing and needed away to speed things back up. The middle of a story is always the hardest part to control. if not careful the story will crumble and make no sense.

     If you read it, wow! Thank You.

      I made no corrections to errors. Only corrected misspelled words, and inserted markdown tags. I also marked the word when I first used today's prompt.

Links To Previous Parts of The Green Door
part 1, part2, part 3,part4, part5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9, part 10, part 11, part 12, part 13, part 14,part 15, part 16, part 17, part 18,

If Rather Read by Chapter Here Are The Links
Chapter 1, Chapter 2, Chapter 3

The Story Prompts - The Green Door

PromptsPromptsPrompts
1. Describe Your Front Door7. Your Greatest Journey13. Roadblocks
2. History8. Hazardous14. Stetson
3. Sleeve9. Plan15. Sequence
4. After Midnight10. Lucky16. Warm Water Bottle
5. Not Yet11. Cyberspace17. The goat ate my
6. Camel12. Habitat18. The Big Freeze

I want to give Thanks to the @freewritehouse

I want to give Thanks to @mariannewest for the freewrite challenge.

Follow. Upvote. Resteem.
@shanedustin

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/cabin-winter-night-snow-cold-2972634/
Image Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wonderfully suspenseful. Well done!
It’s the promptest of prompt delivery services here with your challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-446-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-happy

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Great you are still continuing the story!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @shanedustin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great story you got there. I love every piece of it and I also love your suspense.
Keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the comment, it encourages me to continue to try and write better things.

Another great part of the story. It is awesome to see that even while the value of Steem struggles new, talented and entertaining authors are joining the platform. Keep up the great work!

Thanks for the comment. I love Steem, and there are many talented writers on Steem, if they keep coming the value of Steem as a community will be priceless.

@shanedustin! Wow! I remember you when you were only a baby freewriter :)

I was giving some support when you were the adoptee over there and saw how talented you are then. I also comment for curie posts, and I am so thrilled whenever I see one of my fellow freewriters on their list. You have come so far so quickly. @mariannewest will be proud.

And you have sure taught me something today. I don't write fiction, but I do have themes on my posts. I have been trying to figure out how to get them together in bigger chucks to publish them, and your chapter idea is brilliant. TYTYTYTY.

I'm not too much for the creepy stuff, but so many people are. You have got the right theme for these days for sure.

I think you will soon be one of the next freewriters to be published.

And so many words! Holy cow. You are amazing. You would not believe how much I cheat to get these done lol.

I could not be more proud of you!

@fitinfun
Wow! Thank you! You encourage me to keep pushing forward. I am lost for words. Thank You. I love the #freewrite group and I try to up-vote and comment as much as I can on other freewriters. I think @mariannewest and you and the rest of the free writers are awesome. Thank you for the support. It means so much. I am lost for words. Thank You. Really, Thank You.

Aw! And here I am back way late to reply. Just keep going. You are So organized and consistent - it's wonderful see and maybe I will be like you one day :)

Amazing what you can create within 5 minutes. You are truly gifted. I enjoyed this part and I was feeling her fear and desperation.

I do hope she made it back to her apartment :)

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

Thank you for the words of encouragement.

Hi shanedustin,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

@curie
Wow. Thank You. Awesome!

Hello there @shanedustin!

That was quite a suspense story you have created on this one! And I see that this is a continuation/series stories.. i love it! I wish I could read them all.

Thanks for continued passiob in writing and sharing it with us. Truly this is marked as my favorites!

Posted using Partiko Android

@maquemali
Thank you for taking time to read it. I know time is precious and I'm glad you like it. Thank You!

You are most welcome.. I might go back and read your previous stories when I am no longer busy.. ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75