Allergy - A story written in five minutes

in #freewrite6 years ago

5minfreewritesvashta.jpg


Allergy


Summer had forever been my favorite season, despite being allergic to the sun.

School was out and all my obligations with it, too, we went abroad with my family, it was hot, and I loved swimming, even though I could only jump into the water at night.

At first I was very upset about my sensitivity and felt deprived for all the fun other children were having, when all I could do during daytime was stay in the shade, covered from head to toe. Then, however, I slowly realized I didn’t need to leave from underneath the tree to enjoy myself.

I used to be reading and drawing a lot still as a little girl, but with time my interests shifted and instead of staring at a book for hours on end, I found myself staring at all the people passing by me, completely unaware of my presence.

For each person I laid my eyes upon I came up with a story. A story about where they were coming from, where they were going, their thoughts, their desires, their most secret fears. Tall or short, fat or slim, muscular or not, it didn’t matter one bit.

I was always too shy to actually talk to them and find out if my assumptions were right or not, but it was, and is, a fine mind game to play.


The prompt was:

"muscle"



Liked what you read? Interested in more?
Consider following my author account @davidkain
I post all my best work there!


Five minute freewrite challenges I have fulfilled so far:

Fire, Toilet, Flash, Soft feet, Pillow, Grounding, Surprise, Ending the pain, Going for a walk, Car Mechanic, Murderer, Dog hair, Ducks, Untested medicine, Forbidden love, Vacation, Awakening, Dentist, Wild west, Frozen Lake, Flea Market, Accident, The Gut Monster, Other Side, Late night walk, The Eternal Question, Warrant, Costume Party, Suspect, Pep talk, Election propaganda, Kindergarten, The heist, A spice like no other, Hunter, Wealth, Racket, The two rubber ducklings, Sick, Dragon breath, Remote relationship, Goals.



Consider voting the @qurator witness!

Should you find this post after the 7 day period and wish to throw me an upvote, please consider upvoting a newer post of mine. Thanks!

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.7329665905584433
This post was voted: 73.41%

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

What a sad story with a quirky character, made me tear up when I'm reminded of my younger years. Upvot'd and resteem'd.
Interest'd.gif

Thank you!
And hopefully it didn't make you tear up too much :3 Maybe I should write the next one happy. :P

Brings back thoughts of my mother who had lupus and was allergic to the sun. She was a big writer too... Sometimes we have to be deprived of something we really want to be forced to search for something that's good in life, too. Nice job.

@wandrnrose7 @svashta sometimes limitations are the very windows of opportunity (':

Exactly! I don't want to repeat myself, so I'll only kindly direct you to the answer I gave to @wandrnrose ^^

I would have to agree with you on that!

Posted using Partiko Android

Many times it's that exact deprivation that makes us push a little extra to figure out something different, something new.
I remember having a conversation with a fellow writer some time ago about how they were always very well supported as writers by their parents and peers, and how as a result they were very afraid to write at all because they were afraid they would disappoint. Writing, for them, lost that spark. It ceased to be their getaway, and instead became "an obligation", in a sense.
On the contrary, I was never viewed as a writer, also never encouraged to write - actually ridiculed for writing, truth be told. But all that only meant I only ever wrote for me, with no external expectations to meet, and no quota to reach.
Which of us had (has) it better is up to debate, but there's always some good in the bad, too. And some bad in the good.

Thank you for the comment, though! ^^

Writing was for me a release... I kept my feelings inside growing up most of the time and I did get a little bit of support, but not much. I started out as a young girl writing my own poetry and songs. I would sing many times these songs to myself as I wondered the woods in Pennsylvania. Now I still use it as a release. Maybe someday I'll do something more LOL. You are welcome.

Posted using Partiko Android

The writing and singing songs sound so very heartwarming. ^^
I didn't write up until I finished high school... I never got along with the teachers and got bad grades for essays no matter what I wrote. Took away my will to write, even though I always loved the idea of it. It wasn't even writing for "myself" that sparked the fire again - I wrote a whole lot of essays for friends and my ex girlfriend(s), and I very much enjoyed writing them, and they got good critic. :p

As long as it doesn't become a thing you hate! ^^

I had a classmate with lupus too... Yup... She couldn't be exposed under the sun for too long...

Posted using Partiko Android

Lupus definitely prevents it's sufferers from participating activities surrounded by sun... in land that has limited summer... I suppose it's not as bad... It would be much harder if you lived in a state like California or Florida, I imagine. All I remember is my mom wearing hats and sleeves after her diagnosis.

I play this game all the time, still. I love making up stories about people I see and I think that's a very good exercise for any writer. Love this!

Here's the next prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-354-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-not-smart

Yep! I very much do it still, too, and could spend hours sitting in the corner of a café (or any other crowded space), just observing... Thinking... Coming up with interpretations for all the little face expressions I get to witness.
I swear I'm not some weird stalker! It's completely normal!

Thank you! ^^

Hey, @svashta.

I've never had an allergy, certainly nothing that severe, so can't comment on that part, but I certainly do identify with the watching people and making up stories about them.

Hopefully it's natural to wonder where people are from, what they do for a living, what brought them to where you're at on that day, at that time. I think, though, as wild as our imaginations might be, the truth in some cases would be even wilder, because it's real. Sometimes the things that need to take place to make people meet, or pass by one another, are impossible to calculate or time. At least for mere mortals.

That said, I think your character found a very productive thing to do with her time. Anything that helps us put to one side our own trials or weaknesses and allows us to step outside ourselves and imagine what it's like to be someone else, helps us with empathy and assures us as bad as things may be, they could always be worse, and as good as they may become, they could always be better.

We don't get to choose the hand we're dealt. We can live to build a better one, though. :)

Thank you so very much for this amazing comment!
I agree wholeheartedly with everything you said!

And yes, if we are willing to work for it, we can make a lot happen with whatever hand we are dealt ^^
Some of the biggest stakes in poker games were won with bad cards. Sometimes you just gotta go for it, regardless of your predispositions. ^^

Your first sentence made me think of vampire... Dracula... 😅😅😅

Thank you for freewriting with us! I am here to deliver prompt:- Day 354: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: not smart.

Share with us your Favourite Freewrite and win SBI.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20180924103629.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmmm. I guess that was an opportunity I failed to take at the time of writing.

Thanks for stopping by, and the prompt! ^^

sounds like my husband - just the making up stories part LOL

Congratulations @svashta! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @svashta, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87