#freewriting - I miss my granny's cake

in #freewrite5 years ago

Pound cake?

What is pound cake? Well thank you Google for letting me know. It is just an ordinary cake with a lot of calories, mainly because the head ingredients do have the same amount for example: three cups flour, 3 cups butter, 3 cups sugar, 3 eggs or.... 175 gram of everything.

175 gram so less?
Yes so less. What my Granny used was probably 150 gram of each. I still see that cute, little kitchen scale of her. Instead of chicken eggs she used 1 goose egg and she added grated lemon zest to it.
She always baked one early.in the morning. That cake must have been small, but there was plenty for all of us. A small cup of coffee with 1 slice of cake was common. We did not eat as if we were starving to death.

The paper the butter was wrapped in she used for the baking form, she baked the greatest cake I ever had. She never ate it herself.

Nowadays we eat way more.
Have a look at the old commercials of the 60's and 70's.
It is amazing to see what we ate and looked like at these days and with what amounts of food, candies and potato chips we stuff ourselves by now. I think in my country the only bar that still has the same size as in my childhood is milky way. All the other bars have king sizes, xxxl. The family bag potato chips is xxl too, although the common family is reduced to 3 persons instead 6-12.

If I bake a cake I use way more ingredients as my granny did and... my cake will be eaten within an hour if I don't watch it.
Years ago I already changed the recipe for cake. No pound cake for me, less sugar.

Nowadays I bake differently. I changed a part of the flour for oatmeal, I do not use butter, but sunflower oil, no milk, but water and eggs are no longer a part of it.
My cake will at least weight a pound and I will gain one too if I eat it, but I hope it is a bit more healthy.

Still... I do miss my granny's cake. Perhaps I should once give it a try again to make it the way she did? Perhaps it was all the stirring she did? I gave up on that as well. I just put all ingredients together in a bowl, shove it into the oven and finished. It works and saves a lot of time.
Or were the ingredients she used better as the ones we have today?

This is my entry at the daily #5-minute-freewrite with the promp pound cake.

I use partiko

How about giving it a try yourself?
With my lousy, unstable connection it is the only app that still works most of the times.
Simply give it a try. There is nothing to lose

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I knew you could do it. 👍

🔥 Today's prompt is here! 🔥

MomentCam_20190314091140.gif
https://partiko.app/@mariannewest/day-510-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-fan

Posted using Partiko Android

I the end I could, thanks for the delivery

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13