#freewriting - Pineapple

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

They say it is healthy and it helps you to slim down.
If so it does not work for me, but the reason can be I can only buy it in a can.
In a can it is expensive, fresh it is, if available at all, even more expensive. So a big no for me.

If it comes to it I mainly eat it during summer, sometimes with yoghurt. One of my kids does not like it (it is the one that uses the Dutch name for it once as a nickname now I wonder why.).

As I was in Africa I saw for the first time in my life how they plant them by simply putting the cut off top (green) into the ground.
That ground was beach by the way. So white sand like the desert, nothing special.

Now I write this down it reminds me of the fact I wanted to give it a try over here as well, but I never came that far.
Fact is the way of living over there is so different of over there. Already more sun makes one less stressful, gives more time to social contacts (even the days are not longer) and living the biggest part of the day outside.
Well these days are over and they won't come back again. Which is a pity for sure since according to many people I look years younger if I come back.

This is my entry at the daily #5-minute-freewrite with the prompt pineapple. See @mariannewest and @freewritehouse if you like to join too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Pixabay - Pineapple - breakfast-926492_1920.jpg

Hello @wakeupkitty. I'm a big fan of pineapple myself. Usually to cook in meat dishes or with other fruit in my morning cereal. But when I can get it fresh, I love it.

You cook with it as well? I never do it. Although I had chicken with pineapple lately, but I bought it.

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL! I tried to leave you the prompt but your post yesterday was at Partiko, so I hunted you down here at Steemit and lo and behold, you've already posted to today's prompt! Pineapple - my sister's husband if from Brazil, and there's nothing in the States to compare with the fresh fruits down there, she says.
Well, in case anyone else wants to know, the link to the prompt is here:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-480-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-pineapple

Thanks anyway. Weird thing is imported fruit does taste different over here. Mango for exampleit does not taste great over here at all, but in Africa it does. I think because it does ripe over here different, not in the sun.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @wakeupkitty

I really liked your free writing, I knew how to do it very well, taking the pineapple as input.
I'm curious about your son's nickname ...
How old is your son?
Then I explain because in Venezuela a person can be called a pineapple

It probably is not a positive thing to be called a pineapple?
The Dutch word is: Ananas so that was the name used + a drawing of a pineapple to it.

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty pineapple is easy to grow, they do not need much care, just twist the top off and put in the ground or a big pot

If I have the money to buy an expensive one here I will give it a try

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty, The place that sells them might save the tops for you, if you ask. When fruit starts to get to ripe here they cut it up and put in plastic bowl with lid and sell as already cut up fruit, they charge more for it but in reality it is fruit that was going bad. If they throw away the tops they might give them to you. Never hurts to ask.

You went to Africa? Lucky you! Interesting way to plant pineapple.

At first it was because of the temp... after a messed up surgery the pain did not end in the cold country I live. I had to find a way to survive a part of the winter somewhere else.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is terrible about your surgery. I had a surgery with many complications myself. My body hates the cold weather. It was good that you were able to go someplace warm. I would love to live someplace warm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13