A Metamorphosis - Day 28 Selfie Freewrite Celebration

in #freewrite6 years ago

A Metamorphosis

I honestly spent most of my life in the caterpillar stage, but I'm a butterfly now. I love butterflies and for many reasons identify with the struggle butterflies encounter in the metamorphosis from caterpillar to cocoon to glorious butterfly.

I've shared parts of my life with an abuser. To add to this story, I was emotionally stunted from age 17, when we married, until age 38 when my sons and I made our final escape.

I compare this stunting against anyone who had opportunity to go to college, or get a job, or freely make friends and grow up.

I left my ex-husband emotionally equivalent to a 19 year old women. I had no life experience, no work history and no further education to fall back on. Most of all, I didn't trust my own decisions since I was not previously permitted to exercise choice.

The change from emotional caterpillar to butterfly came slowly with taking on new jobs, starting college and dating men who did not abuse me.

This transformation was gradual and so subtle, but happen it did. I learned that you can trust yourself to make good and healthy choices and you also can grow your wings.

Snapchat-354481509.jpg

signature_2.gif

This is my 5 minute freewrite hosted by @mariannewest
The prompt is:
caterpillar

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here

Earn free Sweatcoin Check out this app ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

❤️ 🧡 💛 💚 💙 💜 💔 ❣️ 💕 💞 💓 💗 💖 💘 💝 💟 To my Wonderful Friend who I have seen blossom and grow, it is so nice to read these words! ONE POSITIVE is that maybe you left as a 19 year old, and you scarcely look like you have aged much at all... maybe you WERE 19???

;) All the love, your friend
RGR

Thank you, dear @underground. I'm happy that old man time went gently on me. Thanks so much!

Happy Birthday!! And indeed. You are a butterfly!!!

Thank you, you're so sweet!

Very beautiful and inspiring your message @ wandrnrose7, not only for women, but also for those men, who for one reason or another, have been prisoners of their demons.
You should write a book to tell your experiences, which can be very valuable for those people who are still prisoners of something or someone.
Greetings...

I'm glad that my words can speak to others. Thank you for your kindness and support. The book idea has crossed my mind.. maybe one day. For now, I'm glad to share with you and my followers. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98