Family Connections - Weekend Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

Family Connections - Weekend Freewrite

Today was a very special day. We got together as a family to celebrate my nephew coming back to visit Pennsylvania. My nephew, Mitchell, began the job as an over-the-road truck driver this year. He hit a very low spot living in Miami right before my sister moved to West Palm because her husband was offered a new job as a graphics art designer in West Palm. As it happened, his current job had just let him go because of downsizing and moving out of Florida.

Mitchell was born in Pennsylvania and my sister moved to Florida and they lived in a couple of cities there. Most of Mitchell's life he lived in Coral Springs until they moved to Miami. He was a waiter at a very fine restaurant on South Beach until he had a unfortunate accident on his bicycle driving to work. He wiped out and broke his heel. A waiter cannot make a living without being on his feet. He was jobless and soon to be homeless because he and his girlfriend split up. He took a chance at signing up for an over-the-road trucking job. In a very short time he gained experience and took all three of the necessary test then passed all three on one day! He made it to the company's website because of his success.

Trucking is quite a different job for him as he was not used to sitting all day or being away from home. He is only allowed for days off per month. But that job is what he needed. He drove his truck to Westline Pennsylvania Friday where my dad and his wife live.

My daughter-in-law, Ashley, prepared a wonderful party with the assistance of funds from my boyfriend complete with full fall decorations. We all met today at 1:00 at the recreation hall in the park where my son, Bill, daughter-in-law Ashley and two grandchildren live.

It was a wonderful time filled with family, fun and good food. These opportunities don't occur very frequently and it was a blessing to be able to see them all. My my brother drove down from Buffalo 2 hours away bringing his two grandchildren and my Dad and his wife, also two hours away near the Allegheny Mountains in Pennsylvania came. My niece, Kstherine stopped in after playing her role as Elsa for the party job that she works part-time.

I'm not a big party girl, but I am into family. These days are the special days that go down in memory and I can go back into my photo album and smile over and over again.

I had a slight migraine in the morning that was treated with Excedrin and fortunately went away. To save my hip, which is doing better not sitting all day, Jeff pulled out the plane and we flew to Erie in 18 minutes. The normal one hour drive to Erie became an 18 minute beautiful flight.

Watching rain in the distance from 5000 feet up, Smartphonephotography

Today I feel blessed. Now my sons and Mitchell are out playing a few games of pool and getting reconnected. What are you doing this weekend?

This is my 5 minute freewrite.
Here is the link:
I used party as my prompt.
[https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-9-15-2018-single-prompt-option]

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

Aww! Glad he got to visit. You two look like one another :)

Aww thanks so much! Other than the doctors and my sisters I was the only one present when he was born... He's more like a grandson to me. My sister is more like my daughter... But sometimes that happens in family Dynamics

Posted using Partiko Android

We've got a lot in common because I've got a sister who is younger than my two oldest sons!

Yes we do!

Posted using Partiko Android

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Family time, especially those that are few and far between are always special

We are just pottering around
One is entertaining his K-Pop fever
Two are helping Daddio with the hydroponics set up
One is still sleeping waiting for the Frog's kiss (or is it the other way around) or perhaps just for Mum to say "Wake Up, it's already noon!" in a Frog's voice... haha

So happy that you had a wonderful day 😊

So sweet of you to drop by. I am so glad we could pull everyone together yesterday. Have a wonderful day! Hugs!

Posted using Partiko Android

Being able to spend time together with family indeed is a special day!

Thank you for freewriting with us! I am here to deliver your prompt:- Day 332: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: kit

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree, my dear. Nothing beats spending time with family. The older we get the more we realize this. Thank you for the prompt delivery. Yesterday I was falling asleep at the wheel so I did not try to write the last couple of days to try to catch up some sleep last night. Hopefully tonight I will be able to get something written! Have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75