Guilty Pleasures - Day 25 Selfie Freewrite Celebration

in #freewrite6 years ago

Guilty Pleasures

Fresh cherry pie, marichino cherries, banana splits with a bright red cherry tottering on top of a creamy dollop of cool whip hiding vanilla ice cream and savory sweet caramel sauce below....

I never say no to cherries! When they are in season here in Pennsylvania, I buy a pound or two of my favorite Bing cherries and pack them every day for work. Nature's candy to me far exceeds confections.

When we moved down the road from my ex-in laws decades ago I was thrilled to discover a tart cherry tree in the back corner of the little acre of land we purchased in the middle of no where. But, there was a big problem, I soon discovered that as soon as the fruit was ripe every bird in the neighborhood came to feast on my tree. I learned that in order to be able to enjoy any of the fruit you have to buy a net to cover the whole tree. My husband didn't particularly like cherries so he never invested in a net of this kind. I did manage to glean a few cherries yearly, but the birds got the major haul.

Cherries are still (hands down) my favorite fruit and often can be seen floating in my appletinnis with caramel or slow gin fizzes. Be careful if I'm around, I'm not past pilfering any cherry left unattended for long!

1528413236172.jpg

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!
Today's prompt is
cherry

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase!
join here

Earn free Sweatcoin Check out the app ... It pays for walking and referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

Cherries are my favourites.
10 bucks a small punnet here Rose!!
Super sad :(
Dam those birds lol

10 bucks a punnet! That's outrageous. Sends you cherries.healthy-1283166_1920.jpg

Grabs that little red bundle of joy, pierces a hole in it and sucks that pip right outa there then tosses it in the air and catches with open eyes and a salivating trap hole :)

lol, I don't imagine there is many cherries in Cambodia. Thanks for reading. :)

Great selfie!!! I love cherries too! I always wanted to get a horse when I moved to the country and the cherries will make horses sick, so I never planted one. But now that I am sure I won't be getting a horse, I might think about planting a tree :) That would be nice to have one and pretty.

I always wanted a horse, too. But that was not within the budget. I did not know that they get sick by eating cherries. Thank you for stopping, much love!

Your welcome! Now I'm going to need to get some cherries and see if I can get a tree to grow from the seeds. :)

My fondest memories of pixel cherries:

Sweatcoin? I want to try it! All those long hours behind the PC def. don't help my health :(

I like the app. You only earn walking outdoors. I am there with you. My sciatica went out and I was up half the night. Too much sitting and driving. :( AND yes! On Mario cherries!

Your opening sentence had me drooling! (My poor, poor keyboard! LOL!) It's true, cherries are so darn tasty that every creature runs and flies to gobble them up. It's a shame that you weren't able to have a net for your tree but I'm glad that you had the chance to grab a few of the delicious delights before the birds!
If we ever get to meet, I'll be bringing you BIG bowl of cherries! (And be keeping a close eye on mine! 😜)
Hope that you're doing well and that you have a fantastic day!!

Haha thanks so much @brisby! Sends a rag to mop up the drool and if you are ever in the area, I will supply ice cream and drinks! (Eyes up your cherry bowl lol)

Now looking for cherries inside the refrigerator!

I hope you found some, my refrigerator has been dry for quite some time of cherries.

Well, cherries are also one of my favorite fruits but here, I do not see them often ... when I want to taste them I have to go to the bakery and buy a piece of cake ... Wow! Now I have a problem, I want to eat a Banana Split decorated with cherries; But at this time of night I do not think I can get it.
Greetings @ wandrnrose7

Do not feel bad, I do not see them very often here, either. And I usually see them on cakes or in alcoholic drinks if at all. But they are still my favorite! Thank you for stopping by.

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01