My Room - Day 30 Freewrite Selfie Celebration

in #freewrite6 years ago

My Room

Today I have to describe the room I am in. It is large and airy. I've been renting this 1/2 duplex for so long that I don't really think about describing it, so I'm going to do my best.

I'm sitting in the family room, it has tall ceilings over eight feet high. It's an older house, so it shows some wear and tear.

The carpeting is very old and in need of replacement. It is a very drab beige color with some stains here and there. Newt tried to add to the stains today. It was so hot that he threw up right in front of my chair!

My furniture consists of a hand-me-down Lazy Boy recliner that's a maroon color. I spend most of my time in the Lazy Boy with the foot rest up and I even write here using my phone if I'm not in my bedroom.

The sofa is in good condition and belongs to my landlady and it's floral beige with maroon and green accent flowers.

There are two windows in this room. One is a picture window and the other one is a small window facing the road. I am a minimalist, I suppose, I have a mirror on the wall above the couch and I have a small picture of a kitten and the gold rose from my original freewrite selfie. One wall is filled with family members in a nice arrangement that was given to me by my children on Christmas many years ago. My daughter was the photographer at JCPenny's then and they surprised me. The wall behind me has two black and white still photos, one of white flowers and the other of a bridge.

There is a small glass covered table with a lamp that was given to me at Christmas several years ago by my youngest son and a computer desk with a very old computer on it. I can't seem to get that one started up, and I'm not even sure what's wrong with it so it just collects dust.

The door to go outside is to the right of my chair and today it's warm weather, so the door is open. The birds are singing outside.

The walls are now a reddish-brown because me and my friends painted the whole room from its previous boring beige color many years ago.

This is my favorite room and the bird, Sam the cockatiel, sits in the corner opposite the computer table so I can talk to him.

There might be a lot of things that I would like to do to this room, and to the entire apartment, if it belonged to me, but I'm satisfied with it the way that it currently is. I know that I will not be here too much longer.

20180612_193908.jpg
and the link below is in Google Drive is of a bigger view of my room:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1my5TAea7XMz-3VbKC7gQaiKXnFQzr_Pz/view?usp=drivesdk

This freewrite took about 15 minutes.

This started as my 5 minute freewrite hosted by @mariannewest. The prompt is:
Day 30

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Check out this app ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

Minimalistic is a good way to live. Less stuff cluttering up the rooms and your peaceful harmony. Where do you see yourself living in a few years?

Hi @cecicastor, eventually Jeff and I will be looking for a home away from Pennsylvania. ❤

It is good to hear that you will be looking together. Somewhere warmer?

Absolutely! I look forward to that time, honestly.

With your description, I can picture your 1/2 duplex. Nice apartment

It's a spacious place in a beautiful location.

Very precise description of your room and immediately located me to the area you described ... the word "minimalist" was key to definitely locate me in the environment you were describing ... and the video finished reconfirming me what I had imagined.
Greetings @ wandrnrose7

I just don't see a need for lots of stuff to dust and move around to clean! Thank you for reading and I hope you are well, my friend.

What a cozy sounding place to be! Minimalism seems like the way to go. I imagine that I'll have to live alone before I get the chance to try that one out!

Hello, lovely! I could actually picture this room and the Furnitures placement. You do so well and putting the image in my brain.

Hope you are doing well and just now that I miss seeing you around. I'm pretty sure it's probably my fault, but it doesn't change the fact that I miss you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71