Needful Things - Five Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Needful Things

I looked into the cupboards with a sinking heart. The ramen noodles, cereal and partial loaf of bread were not sustainable for a week's groceries for me and the boys. The food pantry opened next Tuesday. I closed the cupboard and said a prayer for food to get through. It was just one more thing on a growing list that my current income without child support that I couldn't pay.

I made the soup for my growing boys and buttered bread. At least we had lunch. I hoped the paperwork for food stamps went through. Something had to give soon.

At noon the mail came and I walked the long drive to the mailbox by the road. When I arrived I sorted through more bills and then saw the letter from public assistance. Tearing it open with tears of hope I pulled a form stating we were approved with a $300 voucher for the month. I dipped my head in silent prayer and then ran to the trailer yelling, "Boys, get ready to go shopping!"

I learned slowly those first few months on my own as a single Mom working several low paying jobs that God was keeping his promises. My fear leaving a volatile marriage that we would go homeless or starve were false. We had found a place to live and were clothed and not starving. Sure, we went without many luxuries, furniture or wants, but our needs were being met and fear of abuse was slowly becoming a remnant of our past.


This is today's five minute freewrite.
Here is the link for today.
sustainable

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

Very touching story and so easy to relate to... not pleasant memories, but looking back you can say to yourself - Yes, those were tough times, but I pulled through...
Also, see what you can do with the new prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-360-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-dry-lips

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Absolutely! It was the best decision I have ever made. Have a great evening and thank you for the prompt.

This is so heartfelt Rose, as a single mother I remember those days when not much was flowing through but thanks to welfare and my Mom we never ran out.

Thank you for your kind comment. We moms faced an uphill road, but somehow it worked out. Hugs!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29