Day 207: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday-Prompt: banana

in #freewrite6 years ago

My awesome badge was made by @fireawaymarmot and personalized by @omra-sky. Thank you!

Day 207: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Monday-Prompt: banana

My green thumb has disappeared. I don't know what happened. I take good care of my plants and shower them with love and water; maybe too much or not enough. 4 years ago, my daughter sent me a priceless gift for Mother's Day in remembrance of my Mom. A miniature yellow rose bush which was mom's favorite flower. There was no way I was going to plant it and be the cause of its death.

My neighbor came over to plant it for me, to keep my deadly hands off of it. After digging the hole, she took a plastic baggie out of her coat pocket. To my surprise she pulled out a banana peel and in the hole it went. She told me that it was fertilizer and that roses love them. Well, this was news to me but I was willing to try anything to keep this plant alive.

It thrived for 2 years and then last summer, as you can see from the 1st photo above, it looked like it was on its way out. And, today it looks like it is dead. I am not surprised but I am sad to see it go. It is still in my garden so I am hoping for a small miracle. This year, I planted Zinnias by seed to attract butterflies. It is going to be interesting to see what happens...or should I say...if anything happens. I now need 2 small miracles for my pitiful miniature garden.

Image Source: 100% own work.

My cute gif is brought to you by @snook. Thank you!

Sort:  

I have high hopes your beautiful rose 🌹 will
come back! First time I've heard about using
a banana peel 🍌. Chiquita or Dole?

Zinnias sprouting tall and pretty :-)

Chiquita or Dole? HaHA! LOL!
We shall see about my roses and Zinnias. Hoping! : )

I heard that the roses are very sensitive to the soil's PH. Maybe you should vary the acidity with some additives... but don't take this for sure, since I've got a notorious black thumb :P

Here’s the most recent freewrite prompt, so you can keep on writing in this amazing community:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-208-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-paper
Enjoy, and have a good day!


Visit this blog for amazing insights, contests, and initiatives about #freewrite community!

I can't believe you used the words "black thumb" because that is what I was going to say at first; that my green thumb has turned to black. : ) Thanks for the advice and I will be sure to check on it. And thanks for the prompt as well Marco!

Well @whatisnew, miracles, Yes! they exist and hope is the last thing that is lost ... with our good wishes, we will all help that yellow rose bush to flourish again ... Greetings.

I am living proof that miracles do exist. Thanks so much for your good wishes, my friend! : )

how wonderful it is to hear that!

Bananas -- Nature's Miracle.
🍌

They sure are! I love bananas so I must check you out later tonight. Thanks for stopping by! : )

Somehow we could tell you were a banana-type person!

We're running a contest to win free Steem Basic Income; you can read about it in our latest blog post about the gypsy. 🍌

What a neighborly neighbor you have! I hope all continues to grow.

Yes, I am fortunate to have nice neighbors. Thanks for your kind comment and for stopping by. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89