Day 376: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday-Prompt: tiny

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day 376: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Wednesday-Prompt: tiny

Praying Mantis

Most insects go through four stages in their lives. For example, butterflies lay eggs that hatch small caterpillars which is the larva stage. The caterpillars grow and then wrap themselves into a cocoon, and this is where metamorphose takes place. This is the pupa stage. Finally, it emerges from the cocoon as an adult butterfly. Egg to larva to pupa to adult.

However there are exceptions to this rule for a few and the Praying Mantis is one of them. When the eggs hatch, the babies emerge looking like tiny versions of the adults. No pupa stage is needed, so they only go through three stages in their lives. Egg to larva to adult.

Baby Praying Mantis

Adult Praying Mantis

Image Source: All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Ok, where did you get to see a baby praying mantis? It's a great photo and I'm really curious...

I found it on my trash can lid. Last year I saw a pregnant praying mantis and I thought to myself...self...I wonder if I will see some babies next year. So you can imagine how shocked and happy I was to see his one. Out of a possibility of hundreds of babies, I only saw this one but that was good enough for me. : )

Vastly splendid idea, friend.

That baby mantis looking at you is so dang cute!

Happy Halloween @whatisnew 🐜

It sure is a cutie! : )

I love the mantis, one of my favorite species. 🙏

Your resident mailman here delivering today's Express Mail prompt, please sign up below:

Webp.net-compress-image__1540446451_75.1.212.152.jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-377-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-cross-eyed

Thanks for the Express Mail delivery of the prompt! : )

Oooh, baby praying mantis!!! What a lucky find! I hope I've never driven over any. Those fuzzy dark brown caterpillars are so numerous, some end up flattened on the driveway every day. The mantis is a protected species here - like, it's a crime to kill one - but who'd want to?

OMG! You have that many caterpillars? I am lucky to find one a year. Watch out for the praying mantis. You sure wouldn't want to commit a crime. I have read that people keep them as pets. Now that is a crime.

I have that many BROWN caterpillars, the kind that turn into a moth, not a butterfly. Monarchs are dwindling, of course, along with bees, bats, frogs, but never the wretched mosquito.

Pyrrharctia isabella, the isabella tiger moth, banded woolly bear or just woollybear or woolly worm, occurs in the United States and southern Canada.

I know all about the, "Not all caterpillars turn into butterflies." : ) I have posted about them in the past.
We need more spiders outside of the house of course, to kill more mosquitoes. LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77