Day 479: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday-Prompt: Beacon

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day 479: 5 Minute Freewrite initiated by @mariannewest. Monday-Prompt: Beacon

Spinning Top

The people who lived on Spinning Top Mountain stayed and never left, just as their ancestors. But who would want to leave this Garden of Eden anyway. Not even the yearly storm deterred them. It was a two day storm with powerful wind gusts. Homes and businesses were damaged but the crops were untouched. The people stayed safe in underground bunkers.

Beacon came the same time every year. Why did they call the storm "Beacon?" Because they all knew that this storm would always allow them to have a fresh start each year. Folklore is that the spinning-top clouds came to remove all of the toxins on land and in the air. Spinning tops meant winning crops. And all of their Blood, Sweat & Tears were washed away, as they each rode a painted pony and let the spinning-top spin.

Sing it loud and sing it proud!

Do you remember this song by Blood, Sweat & Tears?

Image Source: All photos are my own.

My awesome badge was made by @fireawaymarmot and personalized by @omra-sky. Thank you!

My cute gif is brought to you by @snook. Thank you!

Sort:  

Howdy there whatisnew! oh is this whole post about that song? I'm ignorant of the song, I mean it sounds vaguely familiar and of course I recognize the group but couldn't name any of their songs. Very interesting and skillful job of weaving that song into a story!
Hey I ased sir smithlabs what kind of information he wanted me to give you as far as contact and he said this:
"Email if I can help her. I may be able to help her neck too. Or if she is more comfortable in Steemit, that is fine too."

so there ya go, either way is fine. He gives out his email all the time so that's no problem. by the way, he is also a computer genius, and builds computers so he may have some suggestions that could help your old computer last longer and run better. I'm tellin ya the guy is flat out unbelievable. And he's a redneck like me, yay! lol.

Howdy again @janton! That freewrite was a story that I made up and that song came into my head at the ending. You are just full of compliments and I don;t know what to say except thank you once again for your kind words. You are making me blush! LOL!

It would be great if you could give me his email address if he doesn't mind giving it out. I just learned that rednecks are great guys. : )

haha! howdy again whatisnew! Well, I wasn't trying to make you blush I was just being honest and calling it like I see it but I'm so glad that you appreciate that.
yes, smithlabs email is [email protected]

And he is a genuine redneck of the first order but some of them are the smartest people on earth! lol..looks and quirky styles and culture can be very deceiving sometimes! He's not only brilliant but has a heart of gold and helps so many people. He helps feed the homeless every week, that's just one of the things he does to help others. You can trust him.

Thanks so much for his email address. I hate to bother him. Bless him for feeding the homeless. : ) I am not a very good judge of character by what a person says in the first few minutes of talking, but what that person does says it all for me. For that reason, I know I can trust him and also because I trust you. : )

oh good, we got you right where we want you! lol...but in the right way, trusting in the good guys. Oh, believe me, if you DIDN"T contact him you would be bothering him! He lives to help people. You never know, this may be a divine connection. I mean I might be and smithlabs might be. Perhaps God wanted you to meet us for this very reason of healing. Or it could be another reason. But I imagine that it is some kind of divine appointment for this time.
It just seems like it to me.

OMG! I just got chills reading this. I have always taught my kids that everything happens for a reason and there are no such things as coincidences. I couldn't agree with you more. Divine intervention for sure!

what? no "howdy" again? what the??? lol...

well there you go. That's most likely a sign, the chills, that it is a divine appointment. We may not even know the reason or hopefully we will, obviously we're hoping some improvement can be made with the headaches!
Hey look it's past your bedtime!

That is another thing I have always told my kids. That we might know the reason sometime in our lives or we may never know. But down the road, if we do know why something has happened in the past, it all makes perfect sense. I sure do hope something can be done with my migraines. Remember...a migraine is completely different than a headache.

Yup, past my bedtime. I just sent you a goodnight but or messages crossed each other.

Congratulations @whatisnew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5750 replies. Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I would love it if that wind would blow all the snow away :) I love that kitty gif.

HaHa! That makes 2 of us. Wouldn't that be great! Snook did a great job with that gif. I love it too. : )

Indeed it would. I have made a few of my own gifs but have yet to figure out how to make them move like she does.

You made your own gifs? Good for you. Sorry I can't help you with making them move. I am so computer illiterate. Good luck with yours.

Yeah, one was sort of a cartoon style and a few banners. My ocd tends to take over and if even a tiny bit looks off, then I delete it.

Interesting story with a wise lesson. What sounds bad can be good.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much! Glad you liked it. : )

Hi @whatisnew,

When I tried to upvote your post through partiko app in my phone, it says that "the post is not found", but at the same time, I read your freewrite and upvoted it through my laptop.

If the post is present in the link you posted, then why I was unable to access your freewrite through Partiko via the very same link?

This is for your kind info.

Anyhow, you have written a fantastic freewrite, friend.

Thanks so much for your kind words and for stopping by! : ) I have no idea why you were not able to upvote through the partiko app so I can't answer your question...sorry. I don't use apps.

@whatisnew,

Doesn't matter. I have up voted your post anyhow.

Posted using Partiko Android

No upvotes necessary, but thank you. Just you stopping by, reading and commenting makes me happy. : )

I don't remember the song but have to go to spotify and find it now! Love the story - let the storm clean all the crap away each year. I am all for that!!!

Thanks Marianne. : ) That song popped in my head while I was writing. Here are the real words.
https://www.songfacts.com/lyrics/blood-sweat-tears/spinning-wheel

LOL! This is packed full of "Easter eggs," or song lyrics I am old enough to remember and love. Spinning tops meant winning crops. And all of their Blood, Sweat & Tears were washed away, as they each rode a painted pony and let the spinning-top spin. Ride a painted pony let the spinning wheel spin - for some reason I'm always thinking it sounded like Tom Jones. "Pussy Cat" or "She's a Lady" vibes going on there... like "You make me so very happy." Just me, I know, mixing people and names and titles in my mind. Love your cloud photos, btw!
And here is today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-480-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-pineapple

Right you are! How does your brain hold all of that knowledge you have? LOL!
Welcome to the prompt delivery club. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73