Day 538: 5 minute Freewrite: Thursday-Prompt: shade

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Day 538: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Thursday-Prompt: shade

A Cat With Many Names

My neighbor and I share a large back porch and we were sitting there one day chatting when a cat came to visit. We had never seen this cat before and he was very friendly. Suzi fed him and he never left.

I brushed him and it took me two days to get all of the lose hair off. There was enough fur to make another cat. He lived on the porch for three weeks and when nobody claimed him, Suzi and I decided to co-parent him. No need to get him neutered because he had already been to Dr. Chop-em-off. We still took him to the vet to make sure he didn't have any diseases to pass on to my cat Pachino, and he was given shots. Now he could live inside my house. Suzi's house was off limits because her cat hated all other cats.

It was time to pick a name which wasn't as easy as it should have been. Suzi has an obsession with names because her parents never gave her a middle name. She also hates her first name because she thinks it is too common. After a few days of Suzi constantly changing her mind, we finally agreed to name the cat Ollie.

Two weeks later Suzi wanted to change his name to 'Boots' because in her mind, Ollie looked like he was wearing boots. Another two weeks had passed when Suzi wanted to change his name to 'Finley' just because she liked that name. To stop the madness I said, "His name will be Ollie Boots Finley," secretly hoping that we would just call him Ollie. But maybe that wasn't such a good idea either because when Suzi was looking for him outside she yelled, "Ollie...Ollie, Ollie, Ollie Oxen-Free!" To my surprise, we never ended up with the neighborhood kids in our yard.

Nine months later, Ollie began picking fights with Pachino for know other reason than to be alpha male, and when Pachino was so stressed out that he stopped eating, Ollie had to go. Suzi's cat had died so Ollie moved in with her. He gained ten pounds so I called him 'Chubba-Bubba' at times. Yes, I know...I take full responsibility for adding to Suzi's madness.

Several months had passed when Suzi decided to add more confusion to the name game. Since Ollie's fur looks and feels like rabbit fur, Suzi added the names 'Floppsy' and 'Moppsy.' Give me a break!

Four years ago to this day, you have come into our lives bringing us so much happiness. Ollie, you have two human Moms that love you dearly,you have way too much food to eat, a life of leisure and Pachino is your best buddy. Ollie Boots Finley Chubba-Bubba Floppsy Moppsy...you've got it made in the shade.

"I pray that no more names will be added."

Of course this story took way more than 5 minutes to write but it couldn't be helped. The prompt was used as my last word! Thank you Marianne, for giving us so much freedom to write.

Image Source: All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Ollie is a lovely cat but gosh he must be confused with all the name calling by the humans, atleast @whatisnew you have stuck to the same name so your readers wont get so confused as poor Ollie lol.

HaHa! I laughed so hard when you said that at least my readers won't get confused. OMG! LOL! The only one that confuses Ollie is my neighbor. She confuses me too!

After all, the cat Ollie has more names than any "cloak and dagger knight" :)

HaHa! Love it! : )

When the story is about cats, there is no limit. 😺

HaHa! Isn't that the truth!

Hi @whatisnew,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

I don't mind the 5 minutes. It is entertaining to read.

Ollie Boots Finley Chubba-Bubba Floppsy Moppsy...Ollie might be thinking.. "just call me Many Names then". Haha


And I am also here to deliver the next prompt (although abit late), if you haven't checked it out, here it is ➡️ 'filthy rich'.. Thank you for writing with us. 😊

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page to join more awesome contests at the
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I am happy that you found this story entertaining and didn't mind reading a long one. And thanks for the prompt delivery @iamjadeline! : )

That’s a great story. The cat with the seven names has a wonderful life. 🐱 😊

Thanks for your kind words @redheadpei! The cat with seven names and who knows what his name was before he came to us. I guess that makes at least 8 names. LOL!

haha! it took a long time to squeeze the word Shade in but you finally did it! lol. What a spoiled brat cat! I never heard of a cat having so many names!

I took the long road to get that word in. LOL! You can thank my crazy neighbor for all of those names. She drives me crazy!

haha, I love it when crazy stories are true! Truth is almost always stranger than fiction isn't it?

Yes, truth is almost always stranger than fiction. You just can't make this stuff up. LOL!

Howdy today Butterfly! and you have some crazy stories don't you Butterfly? lol.

HaHa! You bet I do have a few crazy stories. How about you cowboy? Do you have any crazy stories?

Howdy again Butterfly! no I've had quite a boring, routine life so I don't have much in the way of stories but I'd like to hear some of yours! Are you going to do any posts about them?

Well you are not boring at all now. : )
I have posted several of my stories when I first came here. Maybe I will write more stories sometime in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81