Day 594: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday-Prompt: not normal

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day 594: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Thursday-Prompt: not normal


Blue Mud Dauber

Raving Lunatic

You have to know what normal is for you, to know what is not normal. For me, anything that is not "run of the mill" is not normal. Like me after stepping on an ant hill while taking photos of a blue mud dauber on my next door neighbor's wood fence and not knowing it until I felt something bite my foot. I looked down to see hundreds of large ants crawling on my pants from the hem to waist high. I dropped my camera, started screaming and flailing my arms, and ran home taking my pants off before I ran inside to take a shower. If anyone saw me, which they did, and not knowing why I was acting they way I did, they might think that I was a raving lunatic. But to me, that was a normal reaction to something that was not normal. It still haunts me to this day.

This was the photo that was taken when I dropped my camera.

All photos are my own.

FYI: I haven't done a freewrite for the past 5 days because my daughter had her baby. Here are a couple of photos of my new baby granddaughter if you would like to see them. I am not asking for upvotes, I am just explaining why I haven't been writing. I am also a proud grandma who wants you to see the cute new addition to our family.

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the chance to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or a place that you would like to support? Than head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

Second picture has artistic potential :-)

Ohhh Lord, *Stop, Drop, and Roll (when on fire, that's the drill) isn't likely to work when covered with fire ants. Or just plain ants. Or great big ants. What an image!!! The nearest river, or the nearest shower, is never near enough.

Congratulations on being a grandma!

HaHa! All I could think of was getting them off of me and you are right, I couldn't get to the shower fast enough. Heebie-Jeebies!

Thanks Carol! Hugs!

Back home we had alot of ant hills I used to love watching them work it was fascinating, were those dangerous ants @whatisnew?

I had only seen an ant hill one other time and that was when I was a kid, and I had fun watching a line of ants taking food back to their home. Thankfully, the ones I stepped on were not the red, stinging ants. These were big black ants that bite and I was grateful that I only got bit once and that was on my foot. I was wearing flip flops.

LOL! Oh man, I would have been laughing so hard, who saw you? And were they laughing? I bet you watch where you step now!

I found out later that a couple of neighbors saw me and whoever drove by at that time. They did have a good laugh. I definitely watch where I am walking now...for sure! LOL!

haha! you're lucky it was a time(I'm assuming) before cell phone cameras! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88