Day 656: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday-Prompt: contour

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day 656: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Wednesday-Prompt: contour

Angel Wings

I was having a bad day. My two day migraine was finally gone and so was my energy. It was also my mom's birthday and I was missing her. It had been 17 years since she left this earth.

To get out of the slump I was in, I forced myself to walk to the butterfly bush with camera in hand. Taking photos of nature, especially butterflies always makes me happy. I didn't last long and only saw one butterfly. I checked the photos I had taken and they didn't turn out well. Figures.

When deciding which photos to keep, I always delete the ones that don't show the butterflies colors and patterns, with the exception of capturing my subject's face. I call butterflies "flying works of art" so why would I want to keep the photos that didn't capture just that?

But then I noticed something. As I looked at the dark silhouette of the Black Swallowtail butterfly's contour wings, I was mesmerized. They looked just like angel wings. I had never seen the wings of any butterfly in this position before. These photos were now spiritual ones and I smiled. Two messages were sent to me. The first one showed me how to appreciate the beauty of this butterfly, all butterflies and that no color was needed for that. The second message was from my guardian angel, my mom, telling me that she was with me.

Beauty is is definitely in the eye of the beholder.

All photos are my own.

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

What a lovely freewrite @whatisnew! I love the lessons that you took away from your experience :) Thank you so much for sharing, and thanks also to @fitinfunfood for sharing your post in her Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry :)

Hi @lynnocoyle1! Thanks for stopping by and for your nice comment. I am grateful to everyone concerned with "Pay it Forward." Such a great initiative. : )

I read your post from last month and I am so sorry to hear about your husband's health problems. Please know that you and your husband are in my prayers for strength in mind and body for this stressful time you are both going through.

I'm so happy to have seen and be able to feature this post, @lynncoyle1. This one is staying with me, and I am very happy you liked it too.


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 70. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Wow! Thanks so much for your support! I sure do appreciate it. Great initiative and I hope to "Pay it Forward" real soon. Thanks again and keep up the good work. : )

A beautiful story I hope you feel better now. I learned to have a 2nd and 3rd looks at pictures before I throw them away. They might be better as on first sight.

💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much! After this experience, I do the same now too. : )

Gorgeous silhouette -- very striking!

Thanks so much! : )

The photos give me so much joy and hope too, @whatisnew. What a lovely story of how taking small steps can really help us get through hard times. I recommended this post for the @pifc contest this week. You deserve a lot of credit for everything about this one. {{{Hugs}}}

Oh, I am so happy to hear that my photos and story gave you joy and hope. Just touching one person the way I was makes it even more special, especially because that one person is you Sharon! And I can't thank you enough for the recommendation to the @pifc contest. So sweet of you! Thanks again! HUGS!

Not a problem at all Bruni! Thanks for the prompt. Hugs!

Love the picture and the idea behind it, sorry to hear about your mom ridiculously tough.

Thanks for your kind words @simonjay! : )

Howdy Butterfly! That is remarkable. That's a true story right?

Howdy Butterfly!
That is remarkable. That's
A true story right?

                 - janton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It sure is a true story and one that I will never forget. : )

Ok that's what I thought, that is wonderful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93